Alabama football: Rolando McClain wins Lambert Award; Terrence Cody misses out on Nagurski Award

sports@ledger-enquirer.comDecember 8, 2009 

The stream of awards didn’t weaken for Rolando McClain on Monday.

A day after piling up honors at the team banquet, the linebacker from Decatur picked up a conference award and a national prize named for a football legend.

First, he was named SEC defensive player of the year by the Associated Press that also tabbed Mark Ingram as the offensive honoree and Nick Saban as the coach of the year.

Later in the day, the Touchdown Club of Columbus (Ohio) announced McClain as the Jack Lambert Award winner as the nation’s best linebacker and named for the Pittsburgh Steelers Hall of Famer.

And this might just be the beginning for the awards for the dominant junior.

McClain is a finalist for the Butkus Award, which will be presented today, and the Lott IMPACT Trophy that is set for a Dec. 13 announcement.

As one of Alabama’s permanent team captains, McClain leads the Tide with 101 tackles including 12.5 for loss. He recorded double-figure tackle totals five times this season led by 12-stop games at Kentucky and Auburn.

Cody loses Nagurski

In the first major award announcement of the week, Nebraska’s Ndamukong Suh beat out Tide nose tackle Terrence Cody and two others for the Bronko Nagurski Award for the nation’s best defensive player.

Suh, who also landed on the Heisman Trophy finalists list Monday, also bettered TCU defensive end Jerry Hughes, Iowa linebacker Pat Angerer and Tennessee safety Eric Berry for the Nagurksi.

Cody still has a shot at the Lombardi Award to be presented Wednesday.

Today brings two other major awards involving Alabama. Kicker Leigh Tiffin is up for the Lou Groza Award and defensive coordinator Kirby Smart will learn if he won the Frank Broyles Award for the nation’s best assistant coach.

Ledger-Enquirer is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service