Coaches' preseason All-SEC football teams announced

abitter@ledger-enquirer.comJuly 15, 2011 

Alabama led the charge on the coaches’ preseason All-SEC teams, which were released Thursday, getting a league-high seven players on the first team and 13 overall selections.

Georgia was second with six first-team picks and nine overall selections, while Auburn had seven players earn mention, all on the second and third teams.

Arkansas had the most overall selections on the three teams with 14, followed by Alabama, then Georgia and South Carolina tied for third with nine each. LSU and Auburn were next with seven.

The Crimson Tide had three offensive first-team selections and four defensive selections.

Running back Trent Richardson and offensive linemen Barrett Jones and William Vlachos were the Tide’s offensive picks, while defensive lineman Josh Chapman, linebacker Dont’a Hightower and defensive backs Mark Barron and Robert Lester were defensive selections.

Georgia’s first-team picks include quarterback Aaron Murray, offensive lineman Cordy Glenn and tight end Orson Charles. The Bulldogs’ other three first-team representatives were on special teams -- kicker Blair Walsh, punter Drew Butler and return specialist Brandon Boykin.

Auburn’s second-team selections were offensive lineman Brandon Mosley and running back Mike Dyer, who was behind first-teamers Richardson and Marcus Lattimore of South Carolina.

The Tigers’ third-team picks include tight end Philip Lutzenkirchen, wide receiver Emory Blake, running back Onterio McCalebb, defensive end Corey Lemonier and safety Neiko Thorpe.

Alabama’s second-team picks include offensive lineman D.J. Fluker, linebacker Courtney Upshaw and Richardson as an all-purpose player on special teams. The Tide’s third-teamers were wide receiver Marquis Maze, linebacker C.J. Mosley and cornerback Dre Kirkpatrick

Center Ben Jones, defensive lineman DeAngelo Tyson and Boykin (as a defensive back) made the second team for the Bulldogs.

Note: Three Alabama players made the preseason watch list for the Butkus Award, given annually to college football’s best linebacker. The three are Hightower, Upshaw and Nico Johnson.



First-Team Offense

Position, Name, Team, Height, Weight, Class

TE Orson Charles, Georgia, 6-3, 241, Jr.

OL Cordy Glenn, Georgia, 6-5, 348, Sr.

OL Barrett Jones, Alabama, 6-5, 311, Jr.

OL Bradley Sowell, Ole Miss, 6-7, 315, Sr.

OL Larry Warford, Kentucky, 6-3, 340, Jr.

C Williams Vlachos, Alabama, 6-1, 294, Sr.

WR Greg Childs, Arkansas, 6-3, 217, Sr.

WR Alshon Jeffery, South Carolina, 6-4, 233, Jr.

QB Aaron Murray, Georgia, 6-1, 211, So.

RB Marcus Lattimore, South Carolina, 6-0, 231, So.

RB Trent Richardson, Alabama, 5-11, 224, Jr.

Second-Team Offense

TE Brandon Barden, Vanderbilt, 6-5, 345, Sr.

OL Alvin Bailey, Arkansas, 6-5, 319, So.

OL D.J. Fluker, Alabama, 6-6, 335, So.

OL Brandon Mosley, Auburn, 6-6, 306, Sr.

OL Rokevious Watkins, South Carolina, 6-4, 334, Sr.

C Ben Jones, Georgia, 6-3, 316, Sr.

WR Joe Adams, Arkansas, 5-11, 190, Sr.

WR Rueben Randle, LSU, 6-4, 210, Jr.

QB Stephen Garcia, South Carolina, 6-2, 230, Sr.

RB Knile Davis, Arkansas, 6-0, 230, Jr.

RB Jeff Demps, Florida, 5-8, 190, Sr.

RB Mike Dyer, Auburn, 5-9, 206, So.

Third-Team Offense

TE Philip Lutzenkirchen, Auburn, 6-4, 253, Jr.

OL Grant Cook, Arkansas, 6-4, 318, Sr.

OL Alex Hurst, LSU, 6-6, 329, Jr.

OL Bobby Massie, Ole Miss, 6-6, 325, Jr.

OL Kyle Nunn, South Carolina, 6-5, 296, Sr.

C Travis Swanson, Arkansas, 6-5, 305, So.

WR Emory Blake, Auburn, 6-1, 197, Jr.

WR Marquis Maze, Alabama, 5-10, 180, Sr.

WR Jarius Wright, Arkansas, 5-10, 180, Sr.

QB Chris Relf, Mississippi State, 6-4, 245, Sr.

RB Vick Ballard, Mississippi State, 5-11, 220, Sr.

RB Onterrio McCalebb, Auburn, 5-10, 172, Jr.


First-Team Defense

Position, Name, Team, Height, Weight, Class

DL Jake Bequette, Arkansas, 6-5, 271, Sr.

DL Josh Chapman, Alabama, 6-1, 310, Sr.

DL Malik Jackson, Tennessee, 6-5, 270, Sr.

DL Devin Taylor, South Carolina, 6-7, 248, Jr.

LB Dont’a Hightower, Alabama, 6-4, 260, Jr.

LB Chris Marve, Vanderbilt, 6-0, 235, Sr.

LB Danny Trevathan, Kentucky, 6-1, 230, Sr.

DB Mark Barron, Alabama, 6-2, 218, Sr.

DB Stephon Gilmore, South Carolina, 6-1, 194, Jr

DB Robert Lester, Alabama, 6-2, 210, Jr.

DB Morris Claiborne, LSU, 6-0, 177, Jr.

Second-Team Defense

DL Melvin Ingram, South Carolina, 6-2, 271, Sr.

DL DeAngelo Tyson, Georgia, 6-2, 306, Sr.

DL Kentrell Lockett, Ole Miss, 6-5, 248, Sr.

DL Fletcher Cox, Mississippi State, 6-4, 295, Jr.

DL Barkevious Mingo, LSU, 6-5, 240, So.

LB Ryan Baker, LSU, 6-0, 227, Sr.

LB Jerry Franklin, Arkansas, 6-1, 245, Sr.

LB Courtney Upshaw, Alabama, 6-2, 265, Sr.

DB Brandon Boykin, Georgia, 5-10, 183, Sr.

DB Casey Hayward, Vanderbilt, 5-11, 188, Sr.

DB Tramain Thomas, Arkansas, 6-0, 198, Sr.

DB Tyrann Mathieu, LSU, 5-9, 180, So.

Third-Team Defense

DL Corey Lemonier, Auburn, 6-4, 229, So.

DL Sam Montgomery, LSU, 6-4, 250, So.

DL Travian Robertson, South Carolina, 6-4, 298, Sr.

DL Tenarius Wright, Arkansas, 6-2, 252, Jr.

LB Jon Bostic, Florida, 6-1, 238, Jr.

LB Jelani Jenkins, Florida, 6-1, 233, So.

LB C.J. Mosley, Alabama, 6-2, 234, So.

DB Johnathan Banks, Mississippi State, 6-2, 185, Jr.

DB Dre Kirkpatrick, Alabama, 6-3, 192, Jr.

DB Neiko Thorpe, Auburn, 6-2, 185, Sr.

DB Prentiss Waggner, Tennessee, 6-2, 181, Jr.


First-Team Specialists

PK Blair Walsh, Georgia, 5-10, 192, Sr.

P Drew Butler, Georgia, 6-2, 214, Sr.

RS Brandon Boykin, Georgia, 5-10, 183, Sr.

AP Joe Adams, Arkansas, 5-11, 190, Sr.

Second-Team Specialists

PK Caleb Sturgis, Florida 5-10, 192, Jr.

P Tyler Campbell, Ole Miss, 6-2, 227, Jr.

RS Warren Norman, Vanderbilt, 5-10, 195, Jr.

AP Trent Richardson, Alabama, 5-11, 224, Jr.

Third-Team Specialists

PK Zach Hocker, Arkansas, 6-0, 180, So.

P Dylan Breeding, Arkansas, 6-1, 211, Jr.

P Ryan Tydlacka, Kentucky, 6-1, 185, Sr.

RS Andre DeBose, Florida, 5-11, 180, So.

AP Trey Burton, Florida, 6-2, 222, So.

Ledger-Enquirer is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service