SEC football championship, game-by-game history

December 3, 2011 

2010 | Auburn 56, South Carolina 17

It was the Cam Newton show for the Auburn Tigers. The quarterback threw for three touchdowns and ran for two more as the Tigers won their first SEC title since 2004.

The game was close until Auburn ran off 28 straight points to go from a 21-14 lead to a 49-14 lead.

2009 | Alabama 32, Florida 13

Mark Ingram ran for 113 yards and three touchdowns as Alabama won its first conference title since 1999. Greg McElroy also had 239 yards passing.

In this battle of the top two ranked teams in the country, it was No. 2 Alabama coming out on top.

2008 | Florida 31, Alabama 20

The Gators scored a pair of fourth-quarter touchdowns to rally for the win. Jeff Demps scored on a 1-yard run, then Tim Tebow threw 5 yards to Riley Cooper for a score.

This marked the first time in SEC history that two teams ranked No. 1 and No. 2 in the polls played one another.

2007 | LSU 21, Tennessee 14

Jonathan Zenon returned an interception 18 yards for a touchdown with 9:54 left in the game to lead LSU to the win. Erik Ainge threw a pair of touchdown passes but his interception was the difference.

Despite entering the game ranked fifth, the win propelled LSU into the BCS national title game, where the Tigers won a second straight national crown for the SEC.

2006 | Florida 38, Arkansas 28

Three big plays lifted Florida to the come-from-behind victory. The first was a

fumbled punt that Florida recovered in the end zone for a touchdown. Percy Harvin followed with a 67-yard run for a score. That was followed by a wide receiver, Andre Caldwell, throwing a TD pass.

Florida went on to win the first of five straight BCS national championships for the SEC.

2005 | Georgia 34, LSU 14

D.J. Shockley threw two touchdown passes to Sean Bailey in the first nine minutes of the game. Shockley also added a TD run, and Tim Jennings returned an interception for a score.

This was Georgia second’s SEC title in four years.

2004 | Auburn 38, Tennessee 28

Auburn remained undefeated with the win. Jason Campbell threw for 374 yards and three touchdowns to lead the Tigers. He had TD passes of 53 and 43 yards in th second half.

Cadillac Williams had 100 yards rushing and a touchdown.

2003 | LSU 34, Georgia 13

Freshman Justin Vincent rushed for 201 yards and two touchdowns as the Tigers denied the Dogs a second straight SEC championship.

Lionel Turner returned an interception in the third quarter to give LSU a 24-6 lead.

2002 | Georgia 30, Arkansas 3

Georgia scored on it first five possessions for a 23-0 lead in the first half. It was the Bulldogs’ first SEC crown since Herschel Walker’s final season in 1982.

Musa Smith rushed for 106 yards and two touchdowns.

2001 | LSU 31, Tennessee 20

LSU won its first conference title since 1986 as Matt Mauck drove the Tigers to two fourth-quarter touchdowns. Mauck scored two times, including the go-ahead score with 14:20 remaining in the game.

Casey Clausen threw a pair of second-quarter TD passes as the Vols took a 17-10 lead into intermission.

2000 | Florida 28, Auburn 6

Rex Grossman threw three TD passes in the first 22 minutes of the game as the Gators rolled to the title.

The Gators held Auburn running back Rudi Johnson to just 47 yards on 17 carries.

1999 | Alabama 34, Florida 7

Alabama blew the game open with a 19-0 run in the fourth quarter. Two plays set up the big run. Freddie Milons scored on a 77-yard run, then just 18 seconds later, Reggie Grimes returned an interception 38 yards for a score.

Alabama intercepted four passes and didn’t allow a third-down conversion.

1998 | Tennessee 24, Mississippi State 14

Tee Martin threw a pair of fourth-quarter TD passes to keep the Vols undefeated. After Martin hit Peerless Price on a 41-yard pass for a score, Mississippi State fumbled on its first play. Martin hit Cedric Wilson on the next play for a score.

1997 | Tennessee 30, Auburn 29

Tennessee won the first of its two straight SEC titles, rallying from a 20-7 deficit. The rally was capped off when Peyton Manning hit Marcus Nash on a 73-yard touchdown pass early in the fourth quarter.

Manning finished with 373 yards passing with four TD passes.

1996 | Florida 45, Alabama 30

Florida won the last of its four straight SEC championships as QB Danny Wuerffel threw for 401 yards and six touchdowns. Reidel Anthony caught 11 passes for 171 yards and three TDs.

The Gators went on to win their first national championship.

1995 | Florida 34, Arkansas 3

Arkansas scored the first three points of the game, then it was all Florida. Danny Wuerffel threw for 276 yards and a pair of scores.

Wuerffel was named the game’s MVP.

1994 | Florida 24, Alabama 23

In the first of the SEC championship games played in the Georgia Dome -- the first two were at Birmingham’s Legion Field -- Florida rallied in the fourth quarter and won when Danny Wuerffel hit Chris Doering on a 2-yard pass with 5:29 to play.

Alabama had scored the second half’s first 13 points to take a 23-17 lead.

1993 | Florida 28, Alabama 13

Terry Dean threw for 256 yards and two touchdowns to lead the Gators to the win. Punter Shayne Edge ran 20 yards for a first down that kept a drive alive late in the third quarter. On the next play, Dean hit Jack Jackson for a 43-yard touchdown and a 21-13 lead.

1992 | Alabama 28, Florida 21

Alabama won the league’s first championship game. Antonio Langham returned an interception 27 yards to give the Tide the lead in the fourth quarter.

Alabama went on to beat No. 1 Miami in the Sugar Bowl and win the national championship.

-- Kevin Price

Ledger-Enquirer is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service