The media's GATA award

semerson@macon.comDecember 20, 2011 

ATHENS - This is a bit inside baseball - well, inside football - but I thought I'd pass it on.

The beat writers covering the Georgia football team opted to begin handing out a yearly award to the player who is most cooperative with the media. And after Tuesday's practice, the award was presented to junior linebacker Christian Robinson.

The vote was tabulated Heisman style: Each writer voted for first, second and third place. Robinson was a comfortable winner, followed by Aron White, and others players receiving votes were Aaron Murray, Brandon Boykin and John Jenkins. ( My ballot was Robinson, White and Boykin, in that order.)

There was actually more debate over what to name the award. In the end we went with GATA - which in this case stands for Gracious Attitude Towards Answering.

Robinson was given a plaque on Tuesday morning. (It was cleared through compliance to make sure there were no NCAA issues.) Head coach Mark Richt and team spokesman Claude Felton were also there, and Richt complained good-naturedly about not getting the award, before being informed he wasn't eligible.


Ledger-Enquirer is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service