Columbus Cottonmouths win SPHL title

April 14, 2012 

— The Columbus Cottonmouths won the Southern Professional Hockey League championship Saturday with a 3-1 victory over Pensacola.

The win gave the Cottonmouths a 2-0 sweep in the series. Columbus swept all three of its playoff series, finishing the postseason 6-0.

Greg Beller scored what turned out to the game-winner at the 14:56 mark of the second period for a 2-1 lead. John Sullivan added an emptynetter at the 19:32 mark of the final period.

Jordan Braid had given Columbus a 1-0 lead at the 9:38 mark of the first period.

Pensacola tied it on Ryan’s Salvis' goal at 14:50 of the opening period.

This was Columbus' second SPHL title. The Snakes also won in 2005, the first year of the SPHL's existence.

Ledger-Enquirer is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service