Richt a semifinalist for national coach of the year

semerson@macon.comNovember 19, 2012 

ATHENS - Mark Richt has gone from the hot seat to some coach of the year mentions.

The Maxwell Club announced on Monday that Richt was one of 16 semifinalists for its coach of the year award. Two other SEC coaches are on the list: Florida's Will Muschmp and Texas A&M's Kevin Sumlin.

(And yes, curious that Alabama's Nick Saban doesn't make the cut, as well as Hugh Freeze of Ole Miss or James Franklin of Vanderbilt.)

Here is the full list, in alphabetical order:

Dave Doeren, Northern Illinois
Sonny Dykes, Louisiana Tech
Darrell Hazell, Kent State
Brian Kelly, Notre Dame
Chip Kelly, Oregon State
Mike MacIntyre, San Jose State
Urban Meyer, Ohio State
Jim Mora, UCLA
Will Muschamp, Florida
Bill O'Brien, Penn State
Mark Richt, Georgia
Mike Riley, Oregon State
David Shaw, Stanford
Bill Snyder, Kansas State
Kevin Sumlin, Texas A&M
Dabo Swinney, Clemson

There are two weeks to go in the pre-bowl season, but if I were ranking those 16, I'd put it in this order:

Brian Kelly
Bill Snyder
Bill O'Brien
David Shaw
Kevin Sumlin
Jim Mora
Donny Dykes
Urban Meyer
Mike Riley
Will Muschamp
Mark Richt
Chip Kelly
Mike MacIntyre
Dabo Swinney
Dave Doeren
Darrell Hazell

Follow Seth Emerson at @sethemerson.

Ledger-Enquirer is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service