AP All-SEC team: How I voted

semerson@macon.comDecember 3, 2012 

The Associated Press all-SEC team will be announced on Monday afternoon. I was on the panel, and here's how my ballot looked:

WR: Jordan Matthews, Vanderbilt
WR: Cobi Hamilton, Arkansas
L: Chance Warmack, Alabama
L: Luke Joeckel, Texas A&M
L: Gabe Jackson, Mississippi State
L: La’el Collins, LSU
C: Barrett Jones, Alabama
TE: Jordan Reed, Florida
QB: Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M
RB: Todd Gurley, Georgia
RB: Mike Gilleslee, Florida
PK: Caleb Sturgis, Florida
All-Purpose: Ace Sanders, South Carolina

E/LB: Jadeveon Clowney, South Carolina
E: Damontre Moore, Texas A&M
T/NT: Sheldon Richardson, Missouri
T/E: Jesse Williams, Alabama
LB: Jarvis Jones, Georgia
LB: CJ Mosley, Alabama
LB: Kevin Minter, LSU
CB: Jonathan Banks, Mississippi State
CB: Dee Milliner, Alabama
S: Matt Elam, Florida
S: Eric Reid, LSU
P: Kyle Christy, Florida

Offensive Player of the Year
Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M

Defensive Player of the Year
Jarvis Jones, Georgia

Coach of the Year
James Franklin, Vanderbilt

Freshman of the Year
Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M


- There is no incorrect answer on coach of the year: Ole Miss' Hugh Freeze, Texas A&M's Kevin Sumlin, Florida's Will Muschamp and perhaps either of the two coaches in the championship game would have been worthy. I went with Franklin because, well, he won eight games at Vanderbilt. Also, look at how well the Commodores were playing at the end of the year, and the fact that they didn't have a huge array of talent.

- It's a bit startling to only have two Georgia players on the first team. But here's why: Aaron Murray had a very good year but the Manziel kid did too. Alec Ogletree would have been on there if he hadn't been suspended the first four games. Bacarri Rambo might have had a shot at safety as well. And Malcolm Mitchell would have had a good chance at receiver if not for the short-lived experiment at cornerback. I was actually very tempted to put Ogletree in at linebacker, and I'd venture to guess he's one of the three best linebackers in the league - but this is an honor for the season. (To be clear, being out isn't automatically a disqualification, it just makes the bar a lot higher.)

- It's also kind of weird not to vote for anybody but Ole Miss, and also not vote Freeze for coach of the year. But you can't look at it in terms of this team should have this many, and so forth. You vote on the merits of each player at each position.

- Receiver was tough, with a bunch of deserving candidates. Matthews was the first choice, because he put up huge numbers in an offense that's not as prolific. Then I went with Hamilton, despite initial reservations about being a product of the offense. Leaving Ole Miss' Donte Moncrief and Tennessee's Justin Hunter was tough, as well as Mississippi State's Chad Bumphis. But you can only pick two.


I also sent in my Heisman ballot on Monday morning. For those unaware, you can vote for three players, ranking them No. 1, No. 2 and No. 3. This year the Heisman Trust has asked voters not to publicize their votes in advance of the announcement, and I've respecting those wishes. So I'll let you know on Sunday, although I will just say that my Heisman ballot included two of the players on my all-SEC ballot.

Follow Seth Emerson at @sethemerson.

Ledger-Enquirer is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service