Jones, but not Gurley, makes SEC coaches first-team

semerson@macon.comDecember 4, 2012 

SEC coaches agreed with the media on Jarvis Jones' worthiness for the all-SEC first team. But the coaches differed on Todd Gurley.

While Jones was again a first-team all-SEC pick by the coaches, Gurley was a second-teamer, a day after being named a first-teamer. Gurley was beat out by Florida's Mike Gillislee and Alabama's Eddie Lacy. In the media vote, it was Gurley and Gillislee.

Four other Georgia players made the second team: Guard Chris Burnette, nose tackle John Jenkins, linebacker Alec Ogletree and safety Bacarri Rambo.

Monday it was the AP. A day later it was the coaches turn to announce the all-SEC first and second teams.

The players and coach of the year will be announced on Wednesday.


TE - Mychal Rivera, Tennessee
OL - Luke Joeckel, Texas A&M
Chance Warmack, Alabama
D.J. Fluker, Alabama
Jake Matthews, Texas A&M
C - Barrett Jones, Alabama
WR - Cobi Hamilton, Arkansas
Jordan Matthews, Vanderbilt
QB - Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M
RB - Mike Gillislee, Florida
Eddie Lacy, Alabama
AP - Cordarrelle Patterson, Tennessee

DL - Jadeveon Clowney, South Carolina
Sam Montgomery, LSU
Damontre Moore, Texas A&M
Sharrif Floyd, Florida
LB - Jarvis Jones, Georgia
C.J. Mosley, Alabama
Kevin Minter, LSU
DB - Dee Milliner, Alabama
Matt Elam, Florida
Eric Reid, LSU
Johnthan Banks, Mississippi State

PK – Caleb Sturgis, Florida
P – Kyle Christy, Florida
RS – Ace Sanders, South Carolina



TE - Jordan Reed, Florida
OL - Larry Warford, Kentucky
Gabe Jackson, Mississippi State
Chris Burnette, Georgia
Dallas Thomas, Tennessee
C - T.J. Johnson, South Carolina
WR - Ryan Swope, Texas A&M
Justin Hunter, Tennessee
QB - AJ McCarron, Alabama
RB - Todd Gurley, Georgia
Zac Stacy, Vanderbilt
AP - Ace Sanders, South Carolina

DL - Barkevious Mingo, LSU
Sheldon Richardson, Missouri
John Jenkins, Georgia
Corey Lemonier, Auburn
LB - A.J. Johnson, Tennessee
Jon Bostic, Florida
*Cameron Lawrence, Mississippi State
*Alec Ogletree, Georgia
DB - D.J. Swearinger, South Carolina
Bacarri Rambo, Georgia
Robert Lester, Alabama
Darius Slay, Mississippi State

PK - Drew Alleman, LSU
P - * Dylan Breeding, Arkansas
* Richard Kent, Vanderbilt
RS – Cordarrelle Patterson, Tennessee

Follow Seth Emerson at @sethemerson.

Ledger-Enquirer is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service