Update: Spencer's Darren Sampson wins state championship; Hester, Mitchell lose in finals

kprice@ledger-enquirer.comFebruary 16, 2013 

Spencer's Darren Sampson defeated Bremen's Joe Stroud 6-5 to win the GHSA Class AA state championship in the 145-pound class.

Shaw's Jamal Mitchell (160) lost in his Class AAAA state final to West Laurens' Bryce Carr on a pin in 3:02.

Smiths Station's Tim Hester lost to Thomson's Nick Hall 21-6 in the AHSAA state wrestling meet in the Class 6A 170-pound final.

Hester was the defending champion after he won last season. He had been undefeated this season before Saturday's final.

Sampson is the seecond Spencer wrestler to win a state title in three years. Quintni Noel won in 2011.

In Class AAAAA, Harris County's Jay Ellison (285) finished third, defeating North Paulding's Michael Barday, 9-3.

Teammate Orry Suich (120) defeated Salem's Reggie Hurt 4-1 in a fifth-place match.

Tyler DeNova (195) lost the third-place match to Ola's Jimmy Carmen by default.

Northside's Sam James (132) won his fifth-place match, defeating Rome's Triston Payen, 9-4.

Teammate Kalvin Harris (126) lost his fifth-place match to Arab Mountain's Alema Favors, 12-5.

In Class AA, Spencer's Tuyen Bowles (120) lost to Monticello's Emery Cline, 10-8, in a fifth-place match. Teammate Josh Sampson (170) finished fourth, losing to Bremen's Darren Boxley, 11-6. Spencer's Andre Carter (285) lost to Heard County's Taron Person in 3:17 in a fifth-place match.

Chattahoochee County's Jacob Afoa (195) won his third-place match, defeating Fitzgerald's Carl Salter, 9-3.

In Class A, Brookstone's Jackson Mansour (160) won his fifth-place match, pinning Cody Love of Truetlen in 1:40.

Pacelli's C.J. Baylosis (120) lost his third-place match to Turner County's Miquel Jackson, 7-6. Teammate Tony Hall (113) also lost his third-place match to Athens Christian's Stephen Crosaniti, 19-10.

Smiths Station had four wrestlers compete in fifth-place matches with two winner and two finishing sixth.

Joshua Jamieson beat Robbey Killough 11-4 to win fifth place in the 120-pound class.

Quin Miles (113) won his fifth-place match against Sparta's Patrick Anderson 8-5.

Chris Young-Perusek (195) lost his bid for fifth place when he lost to Huntsville's Tracy Kendall, 10-0. Brandon Holland also lost in his fifth-place match, dropping a 7-3 match to Oak Mountain's Lloyd Time.


Saturday at Macon


Harris County

Tyler DeNova (195)--d. Tyler Cooley (UNIO), 4:54; l. to Jimmy Carmen (OLA), def.

Orry Suich (120)--l. to Preston Markwell (POPE), 9-3; d. Reggie Hurt (SALE), 4-1.

Jay Ellison (285)--d. Taylor Howard (POPE), 11-7, d. Malik McNeil (CAMB), 3-0; d. Michael Barday (NPAU), 9-3


Sam James (132)--dl. to TJ Collins (POPE), 4-3; d. Triston Payen (ROME), 9-4

Kalvin Harris (126)--l. to Wes Lemons (NVIE), 6-4; l. to Alema Favors (ARAB), 12-5

Class AAAA


Jamal Mitchell (160)--

Class AAA


DeAndre Jackson (106)--l. to Alex Gambino ((NMUR), 5-4

Israel Wheat (195)--l. to Amdrew Poston (WHIT), 21-11

Class AA


Darren Sampson (145)--

Andre Carter (285)--l. to Eric Wilson (SOCC), 3-2; l. to Taron Person (HEAR), 3:17

Josh Sampson (170)--d. Tradd Porter (JEFF), 13-5; l. to Darren Boxley (BREM), 11-6

Tuyen Bowles (120)--l. to James Hite (LOVE), 7-3; l. to Emery Cline (MONT), 10-8

Chattahoochee County

Jacob Afoa (195)--d. Jimmy Haynes (SOCC), 10-6; d. Carl Salter (FITZ), 9-3

Class A


Tony Hall (113)--d. Hunter Smith (MTZI), 3:53; l. to Stephen Crosaniti, (ATHC), 19-10

CJ Baylosis (120)--d. James Laughlin (MPIS), 4:00; l. to Miquel Jackson (TURN), 7-6


Jackson Mansour (160)--l. to Chandler Latham (TRIO), 4:46; d. Cody Love (TRUE), 1:40


Saturday at Huntsville

Clas 6A

Smiths Station

Tim Hester (170)--d. Sam Howard (HNTS), 5-3; l. to Nick Hall (THOM), 21-6

Brandon Holland (220)--l. to Lloyd Time (OAKM), 7-3

Chris Young-Perusek (195)--l. to Track Kendall (HUNT), 1-0.

Joshua Jamison (120)--d. Robbie Killough (PTVE), 11-4

Ledger-Enquirer is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service