52 students receive $71,000 through the TSYS Future Scholars program

52 students receive $71,000 through the TSYS Future Scholars program

tadams@ledger-enquirer.comJuly 17, 2013 

Credit-card processor TSYS is taking care of its own once again.

The Columbus-based company said $71,000 in scholarship money has been given to 52 students of its employees through the TSYS Future Scholars Foundation. Money was donated by the firm’s staffers and “friends” of TSYS through fund-raising events and gifts.

Of the students receiving the education funds, 40 are from the Columbus and Phenix City area, the company said. The processor does business around the world, but also has operations in other U.S. cities, including Tempe, Ariz.

The scholarship program was launched after TSYS was spun off into a standalone company by Synovus Financial Corp. at the end of 2007. Since then, 310 scholarships have been awarded, putting nearly $424,000 into the hands of students.

Regional bank Synovus has a similar program, known as the Jack Parker Scholarship fund. It has been around since 1988, doling out nearly $2 million in cash for continuing education.

Criteria in the TSYS program include leadership, awards, honors, community service, activities, career goals and academics.

Local student Amber Terrell, daughter of Linda Terrell, was the top honoree, being chosen the Richard W. Ussery Scholar, which is named after the first TSYS chief executive officer. Ussery retired in 2005 as CEO and also is a retired chairman of the board. He remains on the firm’s board of directors.

Here are the names of this year’s TSYS Future Scholars recipients:

Hartley C. Barron, Joshua D. Benton, McKenzie A. Bragg, Abby A. Brown, Miranda K. Brown, Ivey E. Burbrink, Anna M. Cook, Emily B. Crawford, Chelsey A. Edgar, Mariah J. Emerson,

Jason L. Fowler, W. Colby Groover, Joshua B. Hall, Trisha D. Handley, Cameron E. Harris, Bonnie Ho, C. Ryne Holland, Micah L. Holt, Katherine L. Hsieh, Janell T. James,

Alice M. Jinks, Michael E. Kamar, Maksym G. Kolenov, Amy D. Lu, Elliott J. Lynn, Andrei A. Markov, Alaya N. Martin, Margaret C. Mason, Megan C. McLellan, Jason T. Motycka, Kaitlin M. Moye,

Marisa C. Nunez, Isaac N. Nwadike, Carlee J. Parsley, Christopher A. Pearson, Alexandra N. Philyaw, Morgan D. Prater, Harold R. Pritchett III, Pooja Ramesh, Meagan L. Self, Ajith M. Shajan, Angelin S. Shajan,

Katie F. Slusher, Nicholas B. Taylor, Amber M. Terrell, Kaitlyn B. Thompson, Kelsey A. Tjen, Kevin I. Tjen, Lauren N. Trudell, Morgan L. Weeks, Darby S. Wiggins and Lacey A. Wise.

Ledger-Enquirer is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service