Media prediction: Alabama and Georgia picked to return to SEC championship game

Brookstone's Brian Vogler picked as third-string tight end

rblack@ledger-enquirer.comJuly 18, 2013 

— If Southeastern Conference media members are correct, the 2013 season will end the same way it did in 2012.

The predicted order of finish was released Thursday at SEC media days, and Alabama was picked to beat Georgia in the conference championship game for the second straight season. Alabama garnered 182 first-place votes, followed by Georgia (38), South Carolina (18), Texas A&M and LSU (1).

The Crimson Tide were also picked as the overwhelming favorite to win the Western Division, earning 225 first-place votes. After Alabama, media members predicted the West to shake out with Texas A&M in second, LSU in third, Ole Miss in fourth, Auburn in fifth, Mississippi State in sixth and Arkansas in seventh.

It was a bit closer in the Eastern Division, but Georgia snagged 149 first-place votes to South Carolina's 75. Florida was picked to finish third in the East, with Vanderbilt, Tennessee, Missouri and Kentucky filling out the remaining four spots. Alabama, Georgia and Auburn were also well-represented on the media's preseason All-SEC teams. The Crimson Tide led the way with nine players on the first-team and 16 players total over the three teams.

On offense, running back T.J. Yeldon, wide receiver Amari Cooper and offensive lineman Cyrus Kouandjio and Anthony Steen earned first-team honors.

Defensively, linebacker C.J. Mosley and defensive backs Haha Clinton-Dix and Deion Belue were selected. The second team included quarterback AJ McCarron, punter Cody Mandell and five defensive players --- defensive lineman Jeoffrey Pagan, Xzavier Dickson and Ed Stinson, linebacker Adrian Hubbard and safety Vinnie Sunseri.

Tight end Brian Vogler (Brookstone) and linebacker Trey DePriest were selected to the third team.

Meanwhile, Georgia had two first-team picks, both on offense in running back Todd Gurley and tight end Arthur Lynch. In sum, the Bulldogs had nine players named to the preseason All-SEC teams. Jordan Jenkins (Harris County) was picked to the second team.

And for a team picked fifth in their own division, Auburn players didn't go unrecognized on the preseason teams. Six Tigers — four on the second-team and two on the third-team — were selected by media members to be all-conference performers this fall.

The four Tigers on the second-team were Tre Mason, center Reese Dismukes, defensive end Dee Ford and kicker Cody Parkey, while their third-team representatives were cornerback Chris Davis and punter Steven Clark.


(* - Ties)



QB Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M (119)

RB T.J. Yeldon, Alabama (221)

RB Todd Gurley, Georgia (206)

WR Amari Cooper, Alabama (194)

WR Jordan Matthews, Vanderbilt (106)

TE Arthur Lynch, Georgia (148)

OL Cyrus Kouandjio, Alabama (193)

OL Jake Matthews, Texas A&M (176)

OL Anthony Steen, Alabama (109)

OL Gabe Jackson, Mississippi State (88)

C Travis Swanson, Arkansas (92)


QB AJ McCarron, Alabama (67)

RB Tre Mason, Auburn (15)

RB *LaDarius Perkins, Mississippi State (12)

RB *Keith Marshall, Georgia (12)

WR Donte Moncrief, Ole Miss ( 46)

WR Mike Evans, Texas A&M (33)

TE Rory Anderson, South Carolina (33)

OL Antonio Richardson, Tennessee (76)

OL Jon Halapio, Florida (51)

OL Chris Burnette, Georgia (50)

OL Ja'Wuan James, Tennessee (50)

C Reese Dismukes, Auburn (33)


QB Aaron Murray, Georgia (52)

RB *Matt Jones, Florida (5)

RB *Jeff Scott, Ole Miss (5)

RB *Alfred Blue, LSU (5)

WR Malcolm Mitchell, Georgia (28)

WR Jarvis Landry, LSU (19)

TE Brian Vogler, Alabama (18)

OL La'el Collins, LSU (37)

OL Josh Williford, LSU (30)

OL Wesley Johnson, Vanderbilt (18)

OL *A.J. Cann, South Carollina (14)

OL *Zach Fulton, Tennessee (14)

C *James Stone, Tennessee (30)

C *Jonotthan Harrison, Florida (30)



DL Jadeveon Clowney, South Carolina (223)

DL Dominique Easley, Florida (162)

DL Anthony Johnson, LSU (127)

DL Chris Smith, Arkansas (56)

LB C.J. Mosley, Alabama (231)

LB A.J. Johnson, Tennessee (107)

LB Denzel Nkemdiche, Ole Miss (94)

DB Ha Ha Clinton-Dix, Alabama (203)

DB Craig Loston, LSU (135)

DB Loucheiz Purifoy, Florida (117)

DB Deion Belue, Alabama (77)


DL Xzavier Dickson, Alabama (49)

DL Ed Stinson, Alabama ( 39)

DL Dee Ford, Auburn (38)

DL Jeoffrey Pagan, Alabama (31)

LB Adrian Hubbard, Alabama (66)

LB Jordan Jenkins, Georgia (64)

LB Lamin Barrow, LSU (29)

DB Damian Swann, Georgia (70)

DB Andre Hal, Vanderbilt (69)

DB Marcus Roberson, Florida (50)

DB Vinnie Sunseri, Alabama (36)


DL Garrison Smith, Georgia (26)

DL Daniel McCullers, Tennessee (23)

DL Alvin Dupree, Kentucky (23)

DL C.J. Johnson, Ole Miss (22)

LB Ronald Powell, Florida (24)

LB Tahj Jones, LSU (20)

LB *Trey DePriest, Alabama (16)

LB *Avery Williamson, Kentucky (16)

DB E.J. Gaines, Missouri (34)

DB Charles Sawyer, Ole Miss (25)

DB Jalen Mills, LSU (22)

DB Chris Davis , Auburn (20)



P Kyle Christy, Florida (108)

PK Carey Spear, Vanderbilt (100)

RS Odell Beckham Jr., LSU (74)

AP Bruce Ellington, South Carolina (69)


P Cody Mandell, Alabama (54)

PK Cody Parkey, Auburn (71)

RS Bruce Ellington, South Carolina (62)

AP Odell Beckham Jr., LSU (44)


P Steven Clark, Auburn (33)

PK Zach Hocker, Arkansas (39)

RS Andre Debose, Florida (53)

AP Loucheiz Purifoy, Florida (36)



Alabama 182 Georgia 38 South Carolina 18 Texas A&M 4 LSU 1


Georgia (149) 1570 South Carolina (75) 1474 Florida (19) 1300 Vanderbilt 858 Tennessee 694 Missouri 577 Kentucky 331


Alabama (225) 1681 Texas A&M (11) 1333 LSU (7) 1324 Ole Miss 883 Auburn 579 Mississippi State 516 Arkansas 488

Ledger-Enquirer is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service