Cowboys rework deal with McCray, cut Bell, Armstrong

The Sports NetworkAugust 31, 2013 

The Dallas Cowboys reached the 53-man roster limit Saturday by reworking special teams stalwart Danny McCray's contract and releasing a pair of veterans, offensive tackle Demetress Bell and wide receiver Anthony Armstrong.

Other notable moves for Dallas including safety Matt Johnson's move to the injured reserve list along with the releases of wide receiver Danny Coale, quarterback Alex Tanney and cornerbacks Sterling Moore and Micah Pellerin.

Johnson, a fourth-round pick of the Cowboys in 2012, has yet to suit up for a regular-season game due to injuries.

Others players waived by the Cowboys included safety Jakar Hamilton, wide receiver Tim Benford, running back Kendial Lawrence, offensive lineman Kevin Kowalski, offensive tackle Edawn Coughman, defensive ends Jabari Fletcher and Thaddeus Gibson, linebacker Taylor Reed, cornerback Xaiver Brewer, offensive guard Ray Dominguez, defensive tackle Jerome Long, defensive end Jason Vega and linebackers Caleb McSurdy, Cameron Lawrence and Brandon Magee.

The Cowboys open the regular season on Sept. 8, when they host the New York Giants.

Ledger-Enquirer is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service