Columbus State men, women take 2nd, Evilsizer PBC Coach of the Year

From staff reportsOctober 26, 2013 

AMERICUS, Ga. -- The Columbus State men's and women's cross country teams both finished in second place at the Peach Belt Conference Championship meet hosted by Georgia Southwestern.

CSU Lady Cougars coach J.D. Evilsizer was named PBC Coach of the Year for women's cross country after the meet.

The men's team finished tied for first with GRU Augusta, but after a tiebreaker (which compared each school's individual runners head-to-head) CSU ended up in second. The tiebreaker awarded a point to the school whose top runner placed ahead of the other's top runner, the school whose second runner finished better than the other's second runner, etc.

The Cougars finished with a combined time of 2:07:19.11. Jacob Dirkman came in fourth with a 25:02.35. Ryan McFall placed sixth with a time of 25:04.78, and Nathan Reeves finished in ninth with a 25:39.67.

Ian Edwards came in 12th (25:42.40) and Cody Mallchok placed 15th (25:49.91) and These times contributed to CSU's final tally.

Stephen Bowers was 22nd (26:16.84), Jaccob Mobbs was 38th (26:55.84), Daniel Ellis came in 52nd (27:38.14) and Chris Williams finished at 74th (29:29.32).

Dirkman and McFall were named to the All-PBC first team, and Reeves and Edwards were named to the All-PBC second team. Reeves was also named to the PBC All-Sportsmanship team.

Dirkman was awarded the PBC Elite 15 award, which is given to the runner competing in the championship with the highest cumulative GPA.

The women's team finished in second place (behind Flagler College) with a combined time of 1:53:31.90.

Moneque English, CSU's top runner, came in fifth with a time of 22:00.09. She received first team all conference honors as well as being named to the PBC All-Sportsmanship team.

Renee Usher (ninth, 22:16.64) and Rayna Green (13th, 22:25.82) were each received second team All-PBC honors.

Caroline Rotich finished 27th (23:03.76) and Kaitlynn Howard placed 42nd (23:45.59) to close out the Lady Cougars' top five runners.

Shelby Nelson (54th, 24:13.07), Linette Cepeda (57th, 24:18.62), Tiera Roberts (74th, 25:32.82) and Samantha Hollis (75th, 25:41.64) also ran for Columbus State.

The teams will compete again Nov. 9 at the NCAA Southeast Regional in Charlotte, N.C. The Lady Cougars won the event in 2012.

Ledger-Enquirer is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service