4 local wrestlers win honors at Hardaway Invitational

Special to the Ledger-EnquirerDecember 21, 2013 

Cambridge High school edged Prattville for the team championship while four local wrestlers won individual honors in the 37th Hardaway Invitational wrestling tournament held at the CSU Lumpkin Center.

Both Cambridge and Prattville had three individual first place finishers, but the visiting Cambridge Bears placed six wrestlers to Prattville's three in second, third and fourth places.

Smiths Station was the top local team finisher, as the Panthers tied Creekview for fourth place with 140 points. Spencer was the next local finisher at 6th with 123 points.

The championship round started with the 145 weight class, and it was not until the 160 weight class came before the first local wrestler took an individual win.

Northside's Noah Forehand outpointed Whitewater's Alex Walker 8-6 in the closest match of the day in the championship round.

"I was really pleased with coming back. Last year I was injured and broke my hip in the Hardaway tour

nament, and it was a good feeling for all the hard work to pay off," said Forehand after his win. Forehand is now 9-0 so far for the 2013-14 season.

The Patriots second wrestler to take a championship was KB Harris, as he had a big 10-4 win over Prattville's Robbey Killough that hampered Prattville's chances for the team crown.

"I had a few butterflies at first, but I felt that my faith got me through the match." said Harris, who was seeded No. 2, behind Killough in his weight class.

"I had never faced him before, and my work in the neutral positions made a difference."

Hardaway's Chris Masenburge faced Joe Goosby in the 285 class.

Masenburge pinned Goosby for the 285 title, the Hawks only individual win.

"It felt good and there was a little revenge," said the 249-pound Masenburge.

"He outpointed me two weeks ago so I got seeded sixth and beat the No.1 and No. 3 seeds to make it to the finals."

Goosby outweighed Masenburge by 40 pounds, but it was Masenburge that was the aggressor the entire match until the pin.

The final first place by local wrestlers was Smiths Station's Joshua Jamieson who defeated Spencer's Tuyen Bowles, 16-2 for a technical pin.

"I went at the match just like we practiced," Jamieson said of his victory.

"I had lost a couple of close ones last year, one in overtime in this same tournament last year and in overtime at the Columbus tournament.

"I was happy that all the hard work paid off."

Caden McWhirter of Prattville was voted the outstanding wrestler of the tournament, and Hardaway's Xavier Woods won the award for scholarship.

Team Totals

Cambridge 210.5, Prattville 200.5, Lambert 186.5, Creekview and Smiths Station 150, Spencer 123, Whitewater 121.5, Lee County 120.5, Northside 110, Carver and Veterans 86, McIntosh 72, Hardaway 69, Harris County 43, Columbus 42, Troup County 41.5, Jordan 37, Kendrick 17, Westover 14, Shaw 6.

Individual Finals

106-Brandon Cunningham (P) def. Eric Diemert, 10-3

113-Matthew Sheetz (L) def. Jacob Goodwin (SS), pin

120-JR Salemi (Ca) def. Grant Slater (Cr),


126-Joshua Jamieson (SS) def. Tuyen Bowles, 16-2

132-KB Harris (N) def. Robbey Killough (P), 10-4

138-Will Britain (Ca) def. Zach Thorne (W), pin

145-Devin Kane (Ca) def. George Causey (P), pin

152-Caden McWhirter def. Joseph VanMeter (W), pin

160-Noah Forehand (N) def. Alex Walker, 8-6

170-Hunter Smith (Cr) def. Joshua Sampson (S), 12-2

182-Joseph Sorrentino (Cr) def. Jordan Rivers (Car), pin

195-Collins Tensley (LC) def. Sean Kaira (Ca), 5-3

220-Chris Lujan (P) def. Brooks Alfred (Car), pin

285-Chris Masenburge (H) def. Joe Goosby (N), pin

Ledger-Enquirer is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service