Nominees announced, tickets on sale for Heart of the Community awards

mrice@ledger-enquirer.comJanuary 16, 2014 

The 2014 Phenix City Heart of the Community award winners will be announced Jan. 25 at 7 p.m. in the Central High School auditorium.

The awards honor outstanding employees and volunteers who serve the Phenix City Public Schools.

A reception will follow the program. Nominees and guests will be treated to entertainment from students, plus desserts from the Culinary Arts Department and the Child Nutrition Department.

The school system's Community Education Department coordinates the program in cooperation with the Phenix City Education Foundation. Tickets cost $10 and are available at the door or in advance by calling the department at 334-298-0534. All proceeds from the event benefit the foundation's educational grant program.

Each award category has a panel of judges comprising various community members to decide the winners. The 2014 award nominees are:

• Classroom Teacher of the Year: Valerie Borders, Taylor Gates, Shane Haws, Ashley Johnson, Melanie Johnson, Frances McVay, Yolonda Phillips, Stephanie Pleas, Linda Taylor-Thomas and Megan Wheeler.

• Specialty Area Teacher of the Year: Alissa Brooks, Lise Ciancio, Kari Cook, Jordan Gibson, Janice Harden,

Amy Nelson, Deborah Peoples, Kimberly Recktenwald, Revonda Sutton and Shayla Thompson.

• Rookie Teacher of the Year: Katherine Backer, Christina Bence, Vivian Chambers, Jenny Farley, Whitney Faulk, Miranda Lewis, Melissa Moore, Rachel Sampler, Rebecca Tarleton and Jackie Williams.

• Support Employee of the Year: Kathy Buckley, Brenda Dorrill, James Elder, Jenny Greene, Tanya Hayter, Delphine Hill, Andrea Johnson, Shirley Lee, Steve Michael and Alandaer Neal.

• Food Service Employee of the Year: Lorene Burnett, Bobbie Bynam, Michelle Chambers, Arthur Chambliss, Sanderdee Hartman, Pamela Hood, Katherine Jenkins, Dorothy Morgan, Brenda Seldon, Laura Sewell and Fay Whisenhunt.

• Transportation Employee of the Year: David Gibson, Charley Sanders, Glenn Schlorf and Ted Talley.

• Maintenance or Custodial Employee of the Year: David Bellamy, Adrene Feagins, Ruby Henry, Chad Jernigan, Jimmie Lee, Donnell Lipscomb, Gloria Scott, Moses Sims and David Wroblewski.

• Volunteer of the Year: Ebony Alexander, Rolanzo Beasley, Joe George, Stephanie Holloway, Nettie Malone, Amanda Mumm, Josh Spivey and Ashley Weiss.

• Community Member of the Year: Rick Carpenter, Arthur Day, Mitchell Dean, Angela Peterson, Christine Smith and Artasha Thomas.

• Partner-In-Education of the Year: Chick-fil-A, Epworth United Methodist Church, Gil's Auto Sales, Golden Acres Baptist Church, South Girard Alumni Association, Summerville United Methodist Church and Waffle House.


The Phenix City Education Foundation's mission is to raise money to fund educational project grants to employees of the Phenix City Public Schools.

The foundation was established in 1993 as a nonprofit corporation separate from the school system. Since then, the foundation has provided approximately $179,700 in grants.

The foundation's board members are: Lori White (president), Suzy Gunnels (treasurer), Florence Bellamy, Vicki Brittain, Victor Cross, Bob English, Alford Harden, David Hay, Eddie Lowe, George Martin, Cordelia Moffett, Elaine Kelly, Sydney Smith and Willie Thomas.


For tickets or more information about the Heart of the Community awards program, call the Phenix City Public Schools Community Education Department at 334-298-0534.

Ledger-Enquirer is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service