Smiths Station takes overall title at city wrestling championships

Special to the Ledger-EnquirerJanuary 25, 2014 

Smiths Station returned to the team podium as the champion in the 19th annual city wrestling championships held at the Columbus High gym Saturday.

The Panthers took first place over second place Spencer by 12.5 points and had seven wrestlers in the finals. Smiths won the tournament in 2011 but finished second to Harris County last year.

"I was proud of our team and our aggressiveness," Smiths Station coach Tommy Sanders said.

"We have three city champions now. We now have sectionals in two weeks in Montgomery and from then to now, we need to find a way to win the matches that are close."

Sanders, as the winning coach, won the Morgan-Rustin coach award.

The Panthers had three title holders, Jacobb Goodwin, Max Kaufmann (who was a repeat champion) and Joshua Jamieson.

The biggest upset in the finals was Katrell Smith of Columbus. He outpointed Noah Forehand 6-3 in the 160-pound weight class.

"He is a good guy and a great athlete," said Smith after the match. "I had never met him in a match before and also messed up when I went for a throw. The biggest thing was I did not let him put me on my back."

For his efforts Smith, who has a 29-9 record for the year, won the Carter Butts outstanding wrestler award and the Will McVie leadership award.

There were only two pin wins in the finals, those by repeat champion Taylor Stephens of Hardaway and Evan Baber of Central.

Evan's brother Ethan Baber was also a repeat champion in the 182-pound class.

The closest final was Carver's DeAndre Jackson's 6-5 win over William Beyer in the 120-pound finals. Jackson scored two points in the final 30 seconds to get the win and sported an ice bag on his knee and a bandage on his forehead after the match.

"I hurt my knee last week and had to take an injury time out during the match," Jackson said.

"It felt like it went out of place. I really felt I did a good job in my neutral (position) and that was big," said Jackson after the match."

Jacob Afoa of Chattahoochee, who got the only individual first for the Panthers, said a similar thing as he won over Timothy London of Carver.

"I could have done better but I felt I did a good

job getting points when I could because he was a brick when it came to moving him," said Afoa, now 16-1 on the year,

Christopher Masenburge added the city title along with the Hardaway title as he finished in the 285-pound class with an 8-0 win over Jordan's Raymond Browder.

"It is a little sad that this is my senior year and I won't get to compete in these tournaments," Masenburge said.

"I have a lot of good memories. But we have the area matches next week."


Smiths Station 191, Spencer 177.5, Central 160, Hardaway 118.5, Columbus 107, Jordan 101, Carver 97.5, Harris County 83.5, Northside 49, Chattahoochee County 41, Brookstone 24, Kendrick 24, Russell County 23.


106-Max Kaufmann (SS) def. Christopher Drake (HC), 9-2

113-Jacob Goodwin (SS) def. Christopher Reese (HC), 9-1

120-DeAndre Jackson (Ca) def. William Beyer (SS), 6-5

126-Joshua Jamieson (Sp) def. Jarrett Marshall (Ce), 8-2

132-Tuyen Bowles (Sp) def. Marcus Ruffin (SS), 10-4

138-Taylor Stephens (H) pinned Tavarus Norman (Sp)

145-Evan Baber (Ce) pinned Laython Warren (Sp)

152-Tristan Catterton (Co) def. Jelani Gooden (SS), 6-3

160-Katrell Smith (Co) def. Noah Forehand (N), 6-3

170-Joshua Sampson (Sp) walkover

182- Ethan Baber (Ce) def. Xavier Woods (H), 7-3

195-Jacob Afoa (CC) def. Timothy London (Ca), 12-5

220-Jeruel Hunter (Ce) def. Justin Geter, 9-6

285-Christopher Masenburge (H) def. Raymond Browder (J), 8-0

Ledger-Enquirer is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service