30 football players expected to sign in Bi-City

dmitchell@ledger-enquirer.comFebruary 4, 2014 

The long recruiting process will come to an end for 30 Bi-City football players on Wednesday as they sign their letters-of-intent on national signing day.

Of those 30, six will sign to play with Football Bowl Subdivision (Division I) schools.

Eight athletes in other sports -- two for soccer, two for softball, two for baseball and two for lacrosse -- will also sign today.

A handful of those were late commitments that only found the offer they were looking for over the past week.

Carver defensive back Kiante Walton, previously committed to Appalachian State, switched his commitment to Indiana after a late offer and visit on Jan. 31. Central's Christian Campbell, who had been recruited by coach James Franklin while he was at Vanderbilt, committed to Penn State -- Franklin's new home -- on Monday and Red Devils coach Woodrow Lowe confirmed offensive lineman Ethan Calhoun had settled on Kansas State Tuesday.

Carver's Neimus Bryant will sign with Georgia State and Tim Whatley with Tennessee-Chattanooga. Hardaway offensive lineman Desmond Barmore settled on East Carolina, and Brookstone's Martin Ramos will sign a soccer scholarship with South Carolina.

Lowe said he's excited for his players, whose patience was rewarded.

"They're excited about it," he said. "I'm just glad for the kids. They've worked hard and did the things we asked them to do. It means they've listened to what we tell them."

Now, with recruiting behind them, they can focus on the other important steps to success at the next level.

"Grades are the most important thing," Lowe said. "The education is why they're there. Now, hopefully, they can save their parents some money and do something that they enjoy."

Ten schools will hold signing ceremonies throughout the day on Wednesday. They are Brookstone, Carver, Columbus, Central, Hardaway, Jordan, Kendrick, Pacelli, Shaw and Spencer.

Central will start the day at 8:45 a.m., followed by Kendrick at 10 a.m. and Shaw and Spencer at 10:30 a.m. and Brookstone at 10:45 a.m.

Next is Pacelli at 1 p.m., followed by Carver and Columbus at 2 p.m. and Jordan at 2:30 p.m. Hardaway will close the day with its ceremony at 3:45 p.m.

Other schools will have signings later. Smiths Station, Northside, Manchester, Calvary Christian and a handful of other possibilities will be held over the coming days and weeks.

David Mitchell, phone 706-571-8590, Follow David on Twitter @leprepsports or on Facebook at www.facebook.com/ledgerenquirersports.

School Name Destination Sport

Brookstone Martin Ramos South Carolina Soccer

Carver Kiante Walton Indiana Football

Carver Neimus Bryant Georgia State Football

Carver Tim Whatley Tenn.-Chattanooga Football

Carver Luckie Rozier Point University Football

Carver Talik Quarterman Fort Valley State Football

Carver Drelon Freeman Fort Valley State Football

Carver Cordarius Smith Fort Valley State Football

Columbus Kyla Wright-Marshall West Georgia Soccer

Columbus Chelsey Grimmest Point University Lacrosse

Columbus Katherine Steinhaus Point University Lacrosse

Central Christian Campbell Penn State Football

Central Ethan Calhoun Kansas State Football

Central Jordan Strong Alabama A&M Football

Central Josh Parker Faulkner Football

Central Joe Jones Faulkner Football

Hardaway Desmond Barmore East Carolina Football

Hardaway Torrie Beard Limestone College Football

Hardaway Jalen Burgess Nassau C.C. Football

Hardaway Treavon Davis Maryville College Football

Hardaway Walter Palmore Coffeeville C.C. Football

Hardaway Josh Anthony Western Oklahoma State Baseball

Hardaway Blake Meadows Wallace C.C. Baseball

Jordan Kayla Hastings CVCC Softball

Kendrick Emmanuel Brown Albany State Football

Kendrick Marvin Lewis Albany State Football

Pacelli Wyatt Peterson Berry College Football

Shaw Tayshun Davis Undecided Football

Shaw Jacorey Butler Undecided Football

Shaw Keith Green Undecided Football

Shaw Regina Falcon Darton Softball

Spencer Douglas Turner Albany State Football

Spencer Tahjay Brown Bethel College Football

Spencer Tarvaraska Davis Lincoln University Football

Spencer Damarkus Robins Lincoln University Football

Spencer Richard Jones Lincoln University Football

Spencer Darrius Lightfoot Bethel College Football

Spencer Juanyae Wilson Bethel College Football

Ledger-Enquirer is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service