Smiths Station's Joshua Jamieson wins state championship

Wrestler wins Class 6A 126-pound weight class

kprice@ledger-enquirer.comFebruary 15, 2014 

HUNTSVILLE, Ala. -- Smiths Station's Joshua Jamieson dominated the Class 6A 126-pound weight class and won the state championship Saturday afternoon at the Von Braun Center.

Jamieson beat Oxford's Matt King 4-0 in the championship match.

He is the second state champion from Smiths Station. Tim Hester won in 2012.

"He controlled the whole match," Smiths Station coach Tommy Sanders said. "He did a great job. I am very proud of him."

Jamieson, a senior, had placed in two previous trips to the state tournament. Last year as a 120-pounder from Smiths Station, he finished fifth.

He wrestled for Russell County in Class 5A as a sophomore and finished as the state runner-up at 120.

In Saturday's win, Jamieson scored a 2-point takedown just 32 seconds into the match. He chose to start down in the second period and scored a reversal at the 1:05 mark for two more points.

"Once he had the takedown, we felt like it was over," Sanders said. "We felt like Josh was so good, so strong, that he couldn't lose."

Jamieson won his first three matches on Friday to advance to the finals.

He pinned Alex Davis of Minor in his first match in 2:50. He followed that with a 14-1 major decision over Drew Reed of Mountain Brook.

He defeated Oak Mountain's Hall Morton 7-1 in the semifinals.

Central's Jarrett Marshall and Ethan Baber both finished fourth in Class 6A.

Marshall, who was competing at 126 pounds, lost his second match Friday, but he fought back through the wrestlebacks to reach the third-place match. He lost to Auburn's Jaitlin Pitts for third place.

Baber (182) also lost his second match Friday. During his way through the wrestlebacks, he defeated Smiths Station's Coleman Rose.

Baber eventually lost the third-place match to Tuscaloosa County's Joshua Smith.

Smiths Station's Logan Beyer finished fifth at 120. After losing his second match on Fruiday, Beyer made it to the consolation semifinals, where he suffered his second loss. But he beat Mason Blakeney of Oxford for fifth place.

Smiths Station's Maxwell Kauffman, a seventh-grader, finished sixth at 106. He made it to the semifinals Friday, but lost. He then lost both matches Saturday, including the fifth-place match to Spencer Haddock of Vestavia Hills.

Smiths Station finished ninth in the team standings with 61 points. Thompson won the team title with 186. Central finished 15th with 39.

Friday and Saturday at Huntsville, Ala.

Class 6A

Smiths Station

Maxwell Kauffman (106)--1. Beat Garrett Marks (Buckhorn), 1:42. 2. Beat Ty Naquin (Stanhope Elmore), 6-4. 3. Lost to Khaleel Johnson (Auburn), 1:12. 4. Lost to Carlos Andres (Tuscaloosa County), 7-2. 5. Lost to Spencer Haddock (Vestavia Hills) 2-0.

Jacobb Goodwin (113) -- 1. Lost to Jack Stoves in 5:16. 2. Beat D'aishun Mitchell (Bob Jones), 2:38. 3. Beat Aaron Ledbetter 12-2. 4. Lost to Cody Mealer (Thompson), 11-9.

Logan Beyer (120) - 1. Beat Stone Clark (Sparkman) 4:30. 2. Lost to Luke DiPietro (Grissom) 14-2. 3. Beat Daniel Munoz (Spain Park), 9-0. 4. Beat Terence Burke (Stanhole Elmore), 11-0. 5. Lost to Quin Estes (Vestavia Hills), 3-2. 6. Beat Mason Blakeney (Oxford), 9-4.

Joshua Jamieson (126) -- 1. Beat Alex Davis (Minor), 2:50. 2. Beat Drew Reed (Mountain Brook), 14-1. 3. Beat Hall Morton (7-1). 4. Beat Matt King (Oxford), 4-0.

Marcus Ruffin (132) - 1. Beat Robert Lowery (PECI) 5-1. 2. Lost to Collin Oliver (Bob Jones), 3-2. 3. Beat Cameron Harbin (Spain Park), 6-1. 4. Lost to Jeremy Strong (Vestavia Hills), 4-3.

Jelani Gooden (152) - 1. Lost to Morgan Pugh (Vestavia) 16-2. 2. Lost to Gage Sassnett (Buckhorn) 13-7.

Coleman Rose (182) - 1. Beat Thomas Schostag (Grissom) 0:56. 2. Lost to Nicholas Weldon (Clay-Chalkville) 1:15. 3. Beat Matthew Dehart (Hewitt-Trussville) 14-3.


Jarrett Marshall (126) - 1. Beat David Bowick (Hewitt-Trussville) 13-1. 2. Lost to Matt King (Oxford), 8-2. 3. Beat Alex Davis (Minor) 1:53. 4. Beat Bowman Hill (Vestavia Hills), 0:50. 5. Beat Hall Morton (Oak Mountain), 9-2. 6. Lost to Jaitlin Pitts (Auburn), 5-0.

Dakota Pittman (132) - 1. Lost to Collin Oliver (Bob Jones) 1:31. 2. Lost to Robert Lowery (Pell City) 1:58.

Jonboy Storey (138) - 1. Lost to Luke Mastro (Hewitt-Trussville) 18-3. 2. Beat Chris Leatherman (Sparkman) forfeit. 3. Lost to Brent Carr (Buckhorn) 3:29.

Evan Baber (145) - 1. Lost to Jon Clegg (Huntsville) 16-1. 2. Alex Oppman (Sparkman) 8-5.

Josh Parker (160) - 1. Lost to Mitchell Scrivens (Buckhorn) 22-5. 2. Lost to Nicholas Biggs (Grissom) 4-0.

Ethan Baber (182) - 1. Beat James Edwards (Vestavia Hills) 5-1. 2. Lost to Levi Hickson (Bob Jones) 10-3. 3. Beat Alex Kim (Auburn) 2:47. 4. Beat Coleman Rose (Smiths Station) 4-3. 5. Beat Logan Skinner (Mountain Brook), 4:17. 6. Lost to Joshua Smith (Tuscaloosa County), 1:34.

Matt Gittens (195) - 1. Lost to Andrew Freeman (Gardendale) 1:31. 2. Beat Jamal Woods (Hueytown) 1:49. 3. Lost to Kevin McClure (Spain Park) 1:53.

Jeruel Hunter (220) - 1. Lost to Payton Demos (Huntsville) 5:49. 2. Lost to Harry walker (Stanhope Elmore) 9-6.

Class 5A

Russell County

Jacob Brooks (106) -- 1. lost to Arick Shankles (Muscle Shoals) in 0:09. 2. Lost to Cameron Hamby (Pinson Valley), 13-5.

Joshua Oaks (152) - 1. lost to Thomas Carter (Athens) 12-2. 2. Lost to Shedrick Kynard (Home), 11-9.

Ledger-Enquirer is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service