Zeph Baker to challenge Councillor Barnes

mowen@ledger-enquirer.comMarch 5, 2014 

Zeph Baker

Zeph Baker, who lost a mayoral runoff to Teresa Tomlinson in 2010 and was until today a declared candidate for mayor this year, has left that race and qualified to challenge Columbus Councilor Pops Barnes for the District 1 seat, according to documents filed in the city’s Elections and Registration office.

Baker, 37, lists his occupation as “entrepreneur” on his affidavit of qualification, filed this morning.

Barnes, 70, has represented District 1 since 2006, when he defeated incumbent Councilor Nathan Suber in a runoff.

Baker is the second candidate to challenge a seated councilor this year. On Tuesday, Felicia Hamilton, a 43-year-old self-employed Fortson woman filed her Declaration of Intention and her qualification affidavit to challenge District 9 at-large Councilor Judy Thomas.

Baker’s departure from the mayor’s race leaves incumbent Tomlinson, challenger Colin Martin, who qualified Tuesday, and challenger Ernest Henderson, who has yet to qualify.

Also qualifying today was John Thomas, who is seeking John Wells’ District 2 seat on the Muscogee County School Board, a seat also sought by John “Bart” Steed, who qualified Tuesday.

Qualifying for the May 20 local elections ends Friday at noon.

Stay with ledger-enquirer.com for updates on qualifying throughout today and the week



Mayor: Incumbent Teresa Tomlinson, Colin Martin

State Court judge: Incumbent Andy Prather


District 1: Incumbent Pop Barnes, Zeph Baker

District 3: Bruce Huff

District 5: Mike Baker

District 7: Mimi Woodson

District at large: Incumbent Judy Thomas, Felicia Hamilton

School board

District 2: Incumbent John Wells, John “Bart” Steed, John Thomas

District 4: Incumbent Naomi Buckner

District 6: Incumbent Mark Cantrell

District 8: Incumbent Beth Harris, Frank Myers

At-large District: Nate Sanderson, Kia Chambers


School board

District 2: Morgan Marlowe

District 7: LaTrenda Tyler-Jones


District 1: Incumbent Charles Wyatt (R)

District 2: Andrew Sivell (R)

District 3: Incumbent Becky Langston, Marcus Bice (R)



Post 3: Incumbent Gerald Douglas

Post 4: Incumbent Walter F. Rosso

Post 5: Incumbent Donald Moore

Ledger-Enquirer is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service