Former Ranger Todd Robinson qualifies for U.S. Senate primary

mowen@ledger-enquirer.comMarch 7, 2014 

Todd Robinson, a Columbus resident and former U.S. Army Ranger, this week joined the field of candidates seeking to replace retiring U.S. Sen. Saxby Chambliss, according to documents filed with the secretary of state’s office.

Robinson joins Branko Radulovacki of Atlanta, Steen Miles of Decatur and Michelle Nunn of Atlanta, the daughter of former Sen. Sam Nunn, in the Democratic primary on May 20.

Art Gardner and David Purdue of Atlanta, Karen Handel of Alpharetta, Phil Gingrey of Marietta and Derrick Grayson of Redan make up the Republican primary field.

Robinson, who served with the 3rd Ranger Battalion, 75th Ranger regiment at Fort Benning, said he first thought of running when Congress was playing partisan politics with the so-called “fiscal cliff” issue in 2012.

“I felt that the politicians needed to be held responsible,” he said. “If they could have prevented that, they should have. Instead of me just talking about, I’m moving forward and doing something about it.”

In local races, Victor Morales today joined John “Bart” Steed and John F. Thomas as opponents of Muscogee County School Board District 2 member John Wells.

Qualifying ended today at noon.

This is the final list of qualifiers for the May 20 elections:



Mayor: Incumbent Teresa Tomlinson, Colin Martin

State Court judge: Incumbent Andy Prather


District 1: Incumbent Pop Barnes, Zeph Baker

District 3: Bruce Huff

District 5: Mike Baker

District 7: Incumbent Mimi Woodson, Xavier McCaskey

District at large: Incumbent Judy Thomas, Felicia Hamilton

School board

District 2: Incumbent John Wells, Victor Morales, John “Bart” Steed, John F. Thomas

District 4: Incumbent Naomi Buckner

District 6: Incumbent Mark Cantrell

District 8: Incumbent Beth Harris, Frank Myers

At-large District: Kia Chambers, Owen Ditchfield, Nate Sanderson


School board

District 2: Incumbent Tim Edgar, Tammy Huling, Morgan Marlowe

District 5: Incumbent Bethany Hall Lucas

District 7: La Trenda Tyler-Jones


District 1: Incumbent Charles Wyatt (R)

District 2: Incumbent Jim Woods (R), Andrew "Andy" Sivell (R)

District 3: Incumbent Becky Langston (R), Marcus Bice (R)



Post 3: Bill Drew, Walter F. Rosso

Post 4: Incumbent Gerald Douglas, Woodrow Weaver

Post 5: Incumbent Donald Moore

Ledger-Enquirer is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service