Scottie Wilbekin, Billy Donovan get top honors in SEC awards


BIRMINGHAM, Ala. -- No. 1 Florida nearly swept the coaches' Southeastern Conference individual awards.

The league announced Tuesday that Florida's Billy Donovan is coach of the year and Gators point guard Scottie Wilbekin is player of the year.

Coaches also selected Florida's Patric Young as the top defensive player and scholar-athlete.

He's won the academic award for the past three years.

Kentucky's Julius Randle is the pick as the top SEC freshman and Florida's Dorian Finney-Smith is sixth man of the year.

It's the second straight coach of the year honor for Donovan, who led the Gators to an 18-0 regular-season SEC mark.

Wilbekin averages 12.9 points, 3.9 assists and 1.5 steals for the Gators.

Randle is averaging 15.4 points and 10.5 rebounds. Finney-Smith is averaging 9.4 points and a team-high 6.9 rebounds.


First Team

Trevor Releford, g, Alabama

Casey Prather, f, Florida

Scottie Wilbekin, g, Florida

Julius Randle, f, Kentucky

Johnny O'Bryant III, f, LSU

Jabari Brown, g, Missouri

Jordan McRae, g, Tennessee

Jarnell Stokes, f, Tennessee

Second Team

Bobby Portis, f, Arkansas

Chris Denson, g, Auburn

Patric Young, c, Florida

Charles Mann, g, Georgia

James Young, g, Kentucky

Jordan Mickey, f, LSU

Marshall Henderson, g, Mississippi

Jarvis Summers, g, Mississippi

Jordan Clarkson, g, Missouri

Rod Odom, f, Vanderbilt

SEC All-Freshman Team

Shannon Hale, f, Alabama

Bobby Portis, f, Arkansas

Julius Randle, f, Kentucky

James Young, g, Kentucky

Jarell Martin, f, LSU

Jordan Mickey, f, LSU

Sindarius Thornwell, g, South Carolina

Damian Jones, c, Vanderbilt

SEC All-Defensive Team

Patric Young, c, Florida

Scottie Wilbekin, g, Florida

Willie Cauley-Stein, f, Kentucky

Jordan Mickey, f, LSU

Josh Richardson, g, Tennessee

SEC Coach of the Year

Billy Donovan, Florida

SEC Player of the Year

Scottie Wilbekin, Florida

SEC Scholar-Athlete of the Year

Patric Young, Florida

SEC Freshman of the Year

Julius Randle, Kentucky

SEC Sixth-Man of the Year

Dorian Finney-Smith, Florida

SEC Defensive Player of the Year

Patric Young, Florida

Ledger-Enquirer is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service