Cottonmouths to play Ice Flyers in SPHL title series

Special to the Ledger-EnquirerApril 6, 2014 

JOE PAULL/jpaull@ledger-enquirer.comColumbus Cottonmouths' Mike Switzer checks Peoria Rivermen's Dean Yakura into the wall on March 28 at the Columbus Civic Center. Columbus will travel to Pensacola Thursday for the first leg of a best-of-three series.

The sixth-seeded Columbus Cottonmouths and No. 1 seed Pensacola Ice Flyers will square off in a best-of-three series for the right to raise the Southern Professional Hockey League's President's Cup.

Game 1 will be at in Pensacola on Thursday night. The series returns to the Columbus Civic Center on Saturday night.

If necessary, Game 3 will be in Pensacola.

The series will feature the last two SPHL champions. The Cottonmouths swept Pensacola in the 2012 finals, raising the President's Cup at the Pensacola Bay Center on April 14.

Exactly one year later, the Ice Flyers defeated Huntsville at home to earn their first SPHL title.

The top-seeded Ice Flyers rallied to beat No. 7 Knoxville 2-1 in their deciding Game 3 on Sunday night. Knoxville won the opener 2-0, but Pensacola came roaring back with a 3-1 decision in Game 2 to force the clincher on Sunday.

Pensacola has a chance to be the first team to repeat since Knoxville won the Cup in 2008 and 2009.

The Snakes, who won the inaugural cup in 2005 and again in 2012, are the only team other than Knoxville to have two titles.

Knoxville leads the league with three championships, won in 2006, 2008 and 2009.

Ledger-Enquirer is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service