High school notes: Three local high school players invited to U.S. Army All-American Bowl

kprice@ledger-enquirer.comMay 22, 2014 

A pair of Carver football players -- Mekhi Brown and Khane Pass -- and Smiths Station's Amonte Caban have received invitations to play in the 2015 U.S. Army All-American Bowl.

The game will be played on Jan. 3 at the Alamodome in San Antonio, Texas. Kickoff is set for 1 p.m., and it will be televised by NBC.

Brown, a linebacker, had 46 tackles, 14 tackles for loss, 11 sacks, 12 pass breakups and four forced fumbles last season. He has committed to sign with Alabama in February 2015.

Pass, a defensive back, had 55 tackles, nine pass breakups and two interceptions.

The two are among 43 players from Georgia that are taking part in the game.

Caban, who is one of 11 Alabama players invited to the game, finished with 140 tackles, 3 sacks, 11 tackles for loss and one recovered fumble.

The players were nominated by the U.S. Army All-American Bowl selection committee. Of the 400 nominees, 90 were chosen to play in the game.

All three were first-team members of the Ledger-Enquirer's All-Bi-City team last year.

Jordan hall of fame

The Jordan Vocational High School Athletic Hall of Fame will induct seven members of the Class of 2014 on Aug. 2 at the St. Luke Methodist Church Ministry Center.

The seven are Rex Enfinger (Class of 1957, track), Ray Timmons (1958, football, basketball, baseball, track), Mickey Carmack (1958, football, basketball, baseball, track), Vince Green (1967, football, baseball), Ronnie Richardson (1967, football), Terry McIntosh (1970, football, baseball) and Fred Ogle

(lifetime controbutor).

The cost to attend the ceremony and dinner is $30 per person.

Contributions or reservations can be mailed to JVHS Athletic Hall of Fame, P.O. Box 1456, Columbus, GA, 31902. For additional information, call George Casion at 706-326-4012.

1-AAAAA soccer

All-region teams are starting to be announced. Among the first ones out if the all-Region 1-AAAAA soccer teams.

The Harris County girls, who won their region title, won two of the major awards.

Goalkeeper Kayla Gray was named Co-Player of the Year. She shared the award with Thomas County Central's Kaylee Shaver.

Harris County's Rob Grant was named the Coach of the Year.

The Lady Tigers placed four on the first team. They were forward Riley Alford, midfielder Caitlyn Callaway, midfielder Autumn Lewis and midfielder Ariauna Washington.

Three Northside players -- midfielder Georgia Barton, defender Kayla Fountain and forward Autumn Fair -- made the first team.

They were joined by Hardaway midfielder Ja'Mia Lisbon.

Hardaway's Rick Iden, who announced that this past season was his last, was named the Co-Boys Coach of the Year. He shared the award with Thomas County Central's Kristie Peeples.

For Hardaway players made the first team. They were forward Marcus Powell, midfielder Gabe Julien, sweeper Hector Zamudio and defender Jose Cruz.

Also making the first team were Northside's Caleb Hardin and fullback Ben Dunlap and Harris County midfielder Isaac Grimes.

Making the girls second team were Avery Langley, Alex Bechard and Madison Plemons of Harris County, Katie Mackie, Kaitlyn Jay, Julie Reynolds and Arisa Wetherill of Northside and April Wolf and Hershawna Boykin of Hardaway. Receiving honorable mention were Alston Kirk of Harris County and Emily Walker of Northside.Making the boys second team Ben Adamson, Kyron Carsten, Miguel Nieves, Jared Almanza of Hardaway, Bryce Jankiewicz and Nathan Robertson of Northside and Jay McKibben and Keith jenkins of Harris County. Receiving honorable mention were Harris County's Chance Walker and Heath Griffin.

Ledger-Enquirer is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service