NASCAR - Camping World - American Ethanol 200 Preview

The Sports NetworkJuly 8, 2014 

Date: Friday, July 11

Start Time: 8:30 p.m. ET

Site: Iowa Speedway -- Newton, Iowa

Track: 0.875-mile oval

Laps: 200

Miles: 175

Capacity: 30,000+ (Grandstand Seating)

Total purse:


Year: 6th

On TV: FOX Sports 1


On Radio: Motor Racing Network (MRN)/SIRIUS NASCAR Radio

Race record: Timothy Peters, 2013 (106.311 mph)

Qualifying record: German Quiroga, 2013 (138.620 mph)

2013 Finish

Defending champion: Timothy Peters

Runner up: Erik Jones

Pole winner: German Quiroga (138.620 mph)

Top 10:

1. Timothy Peters (Start: 10)

2. Erik Jones (7)

3. James Buescher (12)

4. Ron Hornaday Jr (15)

5. Chase Elliott (11)

6. Matt Crafton (16)

7. Miguel Paludo (2)

8. Darrell Wallace Jr (21)

9. Joey Coulter (9)

10. Dakoda Armstrong (22)

Average speed: 106.311 mph

Time of race: 1 hr., 38 mins., 46 secs.

Margin of victory: 0.225 secs.

Caution flags: 5 for 26 laps

Lead changes: 6 among 5 drivers

Past winners

2013 Timothy Peters, Toyota, 106.311 mph

2012 Timothy Peters, Toyota, 96.419 mph

2011 Matt Crafton, Chevrolet, 98.932 mph

2010 Austin Dillon, Chevrolet, 92.967 mph

2009 Mike Skinner, Toyota, 99.181 mph

Last race

Race: UNOH 225 (June 26)

Site: Kentucky Speedway -- Sparta, Kentucky

Miles: 225

Laps: 150

Finish line order: Kyle Busch, Darrell Wallace Jr., Ryan Blaney, Timothy Peters, Brad Keselowski

Time of Race: 1 hr., 43 mins., 5 secs.

Average speed: 130.962 mph

Margin of victory: 1.844 secs.

Caution flags: 6 for 23 laps

Lead changes: 7 among 4 drivers

Lap leaders: K. Busch 1, Wallace Jr 2-35, K. Busch 36-50, Sauter 51-53, K. Busch 1, Wallace Jr 2-35, K. Busch 36-50, Sauter 51-53, Keselowski 54-58, K. Busch 59-78, Keselowski 79-95, K. Busch 96-150.

Entry list

#00 Cole Custer (Ladera Ranch, CA) Chevrolet/Haas Automation

#0 Caleb Roark (Abingdon, VA) Chevrolet/Horejsi Graphics

#02 Tyler Young (Midland, TX) Chevrolet/RandCo/Young's Building

#05 John Wes Townley (Watkinsville, GA) Toyota/Zaxby's

#5 To Be Announced Toyota/Zaxby's

#07 B.J. McLeod ((Wauchula, FL) Chevrolet/TBA

#08 Jimmy Weller III (Hubbard, OH) Chevrolet/TBA

#8 John Hunter Nemechek (Lakeland, FL) Toyota/TBA

#9 Chase Pistone (Cornelius, NC) Chevrolet/NTS Motorsports

#10 Jennifer Jo Cobb (Kansas City, KS) Chevrolet/Horejsi Graphics

#12 Eric Caudell (Piedmont, OK) Chevrolet/

#13 Jeb Burton (Halifax, VA) Toyota/Estes/Carolina Nut

#17 * Timothy Peters (Providence, NC) Toyota/Red Horse Racing

#19 Tyler Reddick (Corning, CA) Ford/Broken Bow Records

#20 Justin Lofton (Westmorland, CA) Chevrolet/J.D. Heiskell & Co.

#21 Joey Coulter (Miami Springs, FL) Chevrolet/TBA

#23 Spencer Gallagher (Las Vegas, NV) Chevrolet/Allegiant Travel

#29 Ryan Blaney (High Point, NC) Ford/Cooper Standard

#30 Ron Hornaday Jr. (Palmdale, CA) Chevrolet/Rheem

#31 Ben Kennedy (Daytona Beach, FL) Chevrolet/Turner Scott Motorsports

#32 Tayler Malsam (Seattle, WA) Chevrolet/Outerwall

#35 Mason Mingus (Brentwood, TN) Toyota/Call 811

#36 Scott Stenzel (Alexandria, MN) RAM/Mittler Bros. Machine & Tools

#42 Charles Lewandowski (Staff. Spr., CT Chevrolet/Randco/Young's Building

#45 Tommy Regan (Tracy, CA) Chevrolet/JD2 Shark Whelding

#50 T.J. Bell (Reno, NV) Chevrolet/Electrical Linemen

#51 Erik Jones (Byron, MI) Toyota/Kyle Busch Motorsports

#54 Darrell Wallace Jr. (Mobile, AL) Toyota/Kyle Busch Motorsports

#56 Raymond Terczak Jr. (Stafford, VA) Chevrolet/RHT Racing

#57 Norm Benning (Level Green, PA) Chevrolet/TBA

#63 Justin Jennings (LaGrange, MO) Chevrolet/LG Seeds/Mittler Bros.

#74 Dustin Hapka (Grand Forks, ND) Chevrolet/

#77 German Quiroga (Mexico City, Mexico) Toyota/Otter Box

#86 Brandon Brown (Ridgeville, SC) Chevrolet/TBA

#88 Matt Crafton (Tulare, CA) Toyota/Menard's/Ideal Door

#97 Jeff Choquette (West Palm Beach, FL) Chevrolet/Adrian Carriers

#98 Johnny Sauter (Necedah, WI) Toyota/Smokey Mountain Snuff

#99 Bryan Silas (Stuart, FL) Chevrolet/TBA

Leading contenders

Name 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013
Timothy Peters 8 27 11 Won Won
Erik Jones 2
Ron Hornaday Jr 4 24 19 2 4
Matt Crafton 6 3 Won 3 6
Darrell Wallace Jr. 8
Joey Coulter 5 8 9
Johnny Sauter 5 2 4 4 11
German Quiroga 14
Jeb Burton 22
Ryan Blaney 26
Ben Kennedy


The American Ethanol 200 at Iowa Speedway is the ninth race on the 2014 Camping World Truck Series schedule.

Built in 2006, Iowa Speedway has progressive banking from 12-14 degrees in all of its turns. There are 10 degrees of banking on the frontstretch and four degrees on the backstretch. The length of the frontstretch is 1,075 feet, and the backstretch measures 869 feet.

There have been seven truck races held at Iowa. The series competed there once each season from 2009-2011 before hosting two events in 2012 and '13. Iowa has only one date this season.

Five drivers who are on the entry list for this race have competed in each of the previous seven truck events at Iowa -- Norm Benning, Matt Crafton, Ron Hornaday Jr., Timothy Peters and Johnny Sauter.

Mike Skinner won the inaugural truck race at Iowa, the Lucas Oil 200, on Sept. 5, 2009.

Peters is the only driver who has multiple truck victories at Iowa (July 2012 and July 2013).

Ryan Blaney and Austin Dillon are those drivers who scored their maiden wins in the series at this track. Blaney won there in September 2012. Dillon's first truck victory occurred in July 2010. He is now a rookie in the Sprint Cup Series.

One year ago, German Quiroga earned his first career pole in the series at Iowa.

Matt Crafton, the defending series champion, is the only driver who has posted top-10 finishes in all seven races at Iowa. Crafton is currently eight points behind leader and ThorSport Racing teammate Sauter, who has six top-five finishes at this track.

The next race is the July 23 1-800-CarCash Mudsummer Classic at Eldora Speedway, a half-mile dirt track in Rossburg, Ohio. Austin Dillon won last year's inaugural event there.

Ledger-Enquirer is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service