Ohio Amateur golf championship winners

The Associated PressJuly 11, 2014 

— Winners of the Ohio Amateur golf championship, with tournament site (Note: match play until 1967, when medal play began):

1904-T. Sterling Beckwith, Cleveland CC

1905-Charles H. Stanley, Cincinnati GC

1906-Robert H. Crowell, Inverness Club

1907-Harold Weber, Youngstown CC

1908-T. Sterling Beckwith, Canton Brookside GC

1909-Joe K. Bole, Portage CC

1910-Joe K. Bole, Euclid Club

1911-Russell Jones, Cincinnati GC

1912-Harold Weber, Inverness Club

1913-DeWitt Balch, Cincinnati GC

1914-Joe K. Bole, Mayfield CC

1915-Holland Hubbard, Youngstown CC

1916-Ira Holden, Cincinnati GC

1917-Howard Hollinger, Cincinnati GC

1918-Jack Munroe, Oakwood CC

1919-DeWitt Balch, Scioto CC

1920-Harold Weber, Dayton CC

1921-Harold Weber, Losantiville CC

1922-Joe Wells, Scioto CC

1923-Jack Munroe, Inverness Club

1924-Joe Wells, Scioto CC

1925-Eddie Hasman, Portage CC

1926-Parker Campbell, Westwood CC

1927-H. Densmore Shute, Miami Valley GC

1928-William Deuschle, Youngstown CC

1929-John Florio, Canton Brookside GC

1930-Glen Bishop, Inverness Club

1931-Robert Kepler, Wyandot GC

1932-John Florio, Portage CC

1933-Robert Servis, Inverness Club

1934-Neil Ransick, Kenwood CC

1935-Maurice McCarthy, Cleveland CC

1936-Robert Servis, Inverness Club

1937-Maurice McCarthy, Canton Brookside GC

1938-Maurice McCarthy, Scioto CC

1939-Robert Servis, Miami Valley GC

1940-Robert Servis, Shaker Hts. CC

1941-Frank Stranahan, Inverness Club

1942-Frank Stranahan, Cincinnati GC

1943-45-No tournament, World War II

1946-Ed Preisler, Shawnee CC

1947-Robert Servis, Congress Lake GC

1948-Harold Paddock Jr., Miami Valley GC

1949-Richard Evans, Westbrook CC

1950-Harold Paddock Jr., Clovernook CC

1951-Tom Jones Jr., Tippecanoe CC

1952-Francis Cardi, Columbus CC

1953-Arnold Palmer, Pine Ridge CC

1954-Arnold Palmer, Sylvania CC

1955-Robert Rankin, Zanesville CC

1956-Robert McCall, Westbrook CC

1957-Robert Ross, Springfield CC

1958-Richard Schwartz, Tippecanoe CC

1959-Tony Blom, Kenwood CC

1960-Dan Carmichael, Zanesville CC

1961-Walter Stahl Jr., Inverness Club

1962-Tony Blom, Dayton CC

1963-Robert Bourne, Elyria CC

1964-Carl Unis, Maketewah CC

1965-Richard Flockenzier, Westbrook CC

1966-Bobby Littler, Toledo CC

1967-Lalu Sabotin, Beechmont CC

1968-Robert Lewis Jr., Columbus CC

1969-Gary Artz, Sylvania CC

1970-Mike McCullough, Tippecanoe CC

1971-Jack Hesler, Scioto CC

1972-Ludwig Schenk, Belmont CC

1973-Steve Groves, Findlay CC

1974-Kim Heisler, NCR CC

1975-Rick Jones, Highland Meadows CC

1976-Taylor Metcalfe, Springfield CC

1977-Gary Trivisonno, Kings Island CC

1978-John Cook, Columbus CC

1979-John Cook, Moraine CC

1980-Rocky Miller, Sharon GC

1981-John Hamrick, Miami Valley GC

1982-Brian Fogt, Inverness Club

1983-Brian Mogg, Aurora CC

1984-Jim Muething, Beckett Ridge CC

1985-Karl Zoller, Elyria CC

1986-Randy Reifers, Coldstream CC

1987-Peter Hammar, Canton Brookside GC

1988-Barry Fabyan, Shaker Run GC

1989-Rob Moss, Moraine CC

1990-Steve Anderson, Sharon GC

1991-Jeff Junk, Inverness Club

1992-Randy Reifers, NCR CC

1993-Robert Fairchild, Canterbury GC

1994-Eric Frishette, Scioto CC

1995-Alan Fadel, Coldstream CC

1996-Robert Gerwin, Miami Valley GC

1997-Andy Montooth, Elyria CC

1998-Matt Ehlinger, Springfield CC

1999-Ben Curtis, Moraine CC

2000-Ben Curtis, Brookside G&CC

2001-Robert Gerwin, The Heritage Club

2002-Kevin Kornowa, Sylvania CC

2003-Steve Paramore, Aurora G&CC

2004-Kyle Reifers, Columbus CC

2005-Chris Wilson, Zanesville CC

2006-Jason Kokrak, Canterbury GC

2007-Jason Kokrak, Springfield CC

2008-Vaughn Snyder, Findlay CC

2009-Alex Martin, Moraine CC

2010-Michael Bernard, Kirtland CC

2011-Korey Ward, NCR CC

2012-Nathan Kerns, Brookside G&CC

2013-Andrew Dorn, Brookside CC

2014-Andrew Dorn, Coldstream CC


Multiple winners: 5-Robert Servis (1933, '36, '39, '40, '47); 4-Harold Weber (1907, '12, '20, '21); 3-Joe K. Bole (1909, '10, '14); Maurice McCarthy (1935, '37, '38); 2-T. Sterling Beckwith (1904, '08); DeWitt Balch (1913, '19); Jack Munroe (1918, '23); Joe Wells (1922, '24); John Florio (1929, '32); Frank Stranahan (1941, '42); Harold Paddock Jr. (1948, '50); Arnold Palmer (1953, '54); Tony Blom (1959, '62); John Cook (1978, '79); Randy Reifers (1986, '92); Ben Curtis (1999, 2000); Robert Gerwin (1996, 2001); Jason Kokrak (2006, 2007); Andrew Dorn (2013, '14).

Back-to-back winners: Robert Servis (1939, '40); Joe K. Bole (1909, '10); Harold Weber (1920, '21); Maurice McCarthy (1937, '38); Frank Stranahan (1941, '42); Arnold Palmer (1953, '54); John Cook (1978, '79); Ben Curtis (1999, 2000); Jason Kokrak (2006, 2007); Andrew Dorn (2013, '14).

Longest gap between victories: Robert Servis, seven years, 1940-47

Youngest winner: Michael Bernard, 16 years old, in 2010.

Ledger-Enquirer is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service