The Comer Center officially reopened today at 11 a.m.
Built in 1941 and for years known as the Comer Auditorium or Comer Gym, the 28,500 square foot Bibb City landmark has undergone an extensive renovation after it was damaged heavily in a 2011 storm.
Heavy rains caused part of the roof to collapse, soaking the hardwood basketball court floor, ruining it, and flooding basement rooms that housed offices and some of the building’s mechanical systems. An entire wall and the roof had to be replaced, as did the hardwood floor. New mechanical systems were installed and drainage around the building was improved. The iconic cupola atop the building was renovated extensively.
The price tag for the repairs was about $2 million, $830,000 of which was covered by insurance. The rest came from Local Option Sales Tax funds.
Never miss a local story.
In addition to the new floor, the center now has a new game room, a new activity room for reading, playing cards and other small group activities, a new break room, new restrooms and a new staircase. The facility also includes a workspace for police officers to stop in and complete reports, and will again house the Recreation Services Division Office. Rooms in the Comer Center will be available for community meetings and rentals.