Latest News

Super Saturday: Dec. 22 expected to be second busiest shopping day of the year

I don't mean to brag, but I finished my holiday shopping last night! OK, so I am bragging. I'm usually that girl running around town on Christmas Eve, in full-on-panic mode, searching for gifts.

Today is Super Saturday (the Saturday before Christmas) and you can count on shopping areas around Columbus to be packed! If you're venturing out today be sure to take your coat, it's cold out there. Arm yourself with a good attitude, a bottle of water and a snack. Expect long lines and be ready to compromise when you learn the perfect gift has been sold out for two weeks.

Super Saturday is expected to be the second busiest shopping day of the year, according to an analysis of sales data done for The Associated Press by ShopperTrak, a Chicago-based firm that tracks spending at 40,000 stores across the country. In tomorrow's newspaper, read business reporter Tony Adams' story about how local retailers are doing this holiday shopping season.

These are the top 10 days that ShopperTrak expects to be the busiest this year in terms of sales.

1. Fri., Nov. 23 (Black Friday)

2 Sat., Dec. 22 (Super Saturday)

3 Sat., Dec. 15

4 Fri., Dec. 21

5 Sun., Dec. 23

6 Sat., Dec. 8

7 Wed., Dec. 26 (Day after Christmas)

8 Sat., Nov. 24 (Black Saturday)

9 Thurs., Dec. 20

10 Sat., Dec. 29

  Comments