Winners abound at Steeplechase: In art, food and fame

The Steeplechase at Callaway Gardens is over for another year. If you didn't make it last Saturday, you missed a really good time. The weather was absolutely glorious.

As always, I wandered around until my feet hurt. I was offered all kinds of food and libations.

But before I even went on the grounds, I was in the Horseshoes Tent, where I judged the Galloping Gourmets competition.

The winner was Buckhead Grill's Chilean sea bass. It was incredible. Second place was the pork pops (barbecue ribs) from Maple Ridge Golf Club Restaurant and third place went to Hunters Pub's shrimp and grits.

I really have the best job, don't I?

Before anyone thought of driving up to Pine Mountain, area schoolchildren competed in the annual Steeplechase art contest.

Here are the winners (in case you're wondering, 3D is sculpture or pottery):

Best in Show: Courtney Ryan, 12th grade, Columbus High School

First, Grades 9-12: Marina Savashynskaya, 11th grade, Shaw High School Second, Grades 9-12: Shelby Williams, 12th grade, Columbus High First, Grades 6-8: Austin Ross, eighth grade, Baker Middle School First, Grades 6-8, 3D: Denise Blackmon, eight grade, Baker Second, Grades 6-8: Susan Strautton, seventh grade, Midland Middle School First, Grades K-5: Emily Rivera, fifth grade, Midland

First, Grades K-5, 3D: Tykash McGhee, fifth grade, Reese Road Elementary School

Second, Grades K-5: Juwan Titre, fifth grade, Georgetown Elementary School

Honorable Mention: Grades 9-12: Tracey Corbitt, 11th grade, Kwame Holt, 11th grade, Edi Santiago, 12th grade, Teresa Benoit, 10th grade, Jordan High School; Anika Cook, 11th grade, Shaw

Grades 6-8: Theresa Hart, eighth grade, Nickolas Epps, sixth grade, Walter Williams, eighth grade, Fort Middle School; Shawn Lawrence, sixth grade, Eddy Middle School; Rachel Hawk, eighth grade, Midland Middle School; Oscar Estrada, eighth grade, Ambitious Ligon, seventh grade, Christopher Marshall, eighth grade, Baker

Grades K-5: Daniel Meza, fourth grade, Brewer Elementary School; Auprentice King, fifth grade, Edgewood Elementary School; Justin Allen, fifth grade, Midland Academy; Ada Mae Gonzales, fifth grade, Reese Road; Alayale J., first grade, Brandon Webber, third grade, Lonnie Jackson Academy; Audrionna Wilson, first grade, Benning Hills Elementary School; Susannah Kitchens, kindergarten, Hannan Academy; DeAreya Porter, first grade, Allen Elementary School; Daniela Garcia, fifth grade, Martin Luther King Elementary School

Walk of Fame

The Columbus Walk of Fame will be dedicated at 4 p.m. Sunday at the Liberty Theatre, 831 Eighth Ave.

Spearheaded by the Columbus chapter of Links, Inc., the first three honorees are Thomas "Blind Tom" Wiggins, Gertrude "Ma Rainey" Pridgett and Fredye Marshall.

Among the local dignitaries who will attend are Miss Georgia Chasity Hardman, Columbus Mayor Jim Wetherington and family members of the honorees.

The Walk of Fame will salute artists who were born, spent formative years or years of artistry in our area.

Call Jacquelyn Joy Egins at 706-687-5733 or Ann Davis at 706-324-7071.

Related stories from Columbus Ledger-Enquirer