Russell, Lee counties added to drought list

Russell and Lee counties have been added to Alabama counties experiencing drought emergencies, Gov. Bob Riley announced.

The two local counties were among 15 Alabama counties added to the list by the Alabama Department of Economic and Community Affairs' Office of Water Resources.

A total of 53 counties are included on the list, based on a review of current and anticipated hydrologic conditions, including rainfall, streamflow, reservoir and solid moisture levels.

Barbour, Bullock and Macon counties were also added to the list.