Rogers resolution honors integrated armed forces

WASHINGTON, D.C. — U.S. Rep. Mike Rogers, R-Saks, introduced a resolution Thursday honoring the 60th anniversary of the integration of the United States Armed Forces, legislation he says is important for helping recognize the many contributions of African Americans who have served our nation in uniform.

“So many of these brave Americans fought on the front lines for our freedom, even at a time when many of these same freedoms were denied to them at home,” Rogers said. “This important resolution will help recognize this historic event, and honor those brave African Americans who served our nation in uniform during a critical time in our nation’s history.”

Rogers said the resolution would also help pay tribute to the great Tuskegee Airmen, who trained at the historic Moten Field in Macon County in the Third Congressional District.

On July 26, 1948, President Harry S. Truman signed Executive Order 9981 which ordered there be equality of treatment with all persons in the armed services without regard to race, color, religion, or national origin.

In addition to beginning the integration of our military, the order also established the President's Committee on Equality of Treatment and Opportunity in the Armed Services. Even though it took years to accomplish the complete integration of the Armed Services, it was Executive Order 9981 that began the process.

With the month of February dedicated to honoring the contributions of our country’s African Americans, Rogers said he hoped Congress would soon pass the resolution. He and Representative Kendrick Meek (D-Florida) introduced the legislation – H. Res. 297 – this morning with 25 cosponsors, including all members of Alabama’s House delegation.

“As a member of the Armed Services Committee, I am proud to be able to help honor these great American heroes,” Rogers added.

Rogers also serves on the Committee on Agriculture and the Homeland Security Committee. His 3rd Congressional District includes Lee, Russell and Chambers counties in East Alabama.