Columbus High takes top honors in JETS competition

Columbus High School captured top honors for the second year in a row in the Junior Engineering Technical Society (JETS) competition held at Auburn University.

There were 22 teams competing.

A junior varsity squad of underclassmen and a varsity squad of seniors represented the Muscogee County School District. Both teams won first place in their respective divisions.

The teacher sponsors were Luther Richardson and Chris Spraggins.

The competition was part of Engineering Day at Auburn and consisted of solving engineering problems concerning the XXIX Olympia in Bejing, China this summer.

Members of the varsity team were Eryn Maynard, Cyrus Vafadari, Will Whiteside, William Mijller, Ryan Shephard, Andrei Markow, Nathan Noack and Avery Baggett.

Members of the junior varsity team were Connor Dunn, Matias Almada, Ryan Thompson, Sang Lee, Phil Wuse, Goran Rak, Michael Byers and Matt Melhado.