T-SPLOST Committee meets tonight

Members of the Conference Committee about a potential 1 percent tax for transportation are meeting tonight.

The Transportation Special Purpose Local Option Sales Tax committee, whose memberse include Rep. Calvin Smyre, D-Columbus, and Rep. Vance Smith, R-Pine Mountain, are scheduled to meet at 6:30 p.m. at the State Capitol.

It is the second meeting of the committee on Senate Resolution 845 that, if enacted, would send voters to the polls in November to decide whether to allow communities to decide on a 1 percent transportation tax for their area.