Semifinalists for CSU post announced

Who's going to be the next president of Columbus State University?

We should have a better idea over the next four weeks. The Presidential Search and Advisory Committee has released the names of the seven semifinalists who will be visiting the campus for interviews.

The list includes two sitting presidents, two current employess of the University System of Georgia and a wide variety of expertise.

Dr. Tim Hynes, vice president for academic affairs at the University of West Georgia, was on campus this week for a two-day interview. Others who are still in the running for the job to replace the retiring Dr. Frank Brown, who has led the university for almost two decades are: Dr. Timothy S. Mescon, dean of the Michael J. Coles College of Business at Kennesaw State University in Metro Atlanta; Dr. Kaylene A. Gebert, executive vice president and provost of Middle Tennessee State University in Murfreesboro, Tenn.; Dr. Charles F. Harrington, provost and vice chancellor for academic affairs at the University of North Carolina at Pembroke; Dr. Katherine S. “Kate” Conway-Turner, provost and vice president of academic affairs at the State University of New York (SUNY) at Geneseo; Dr. Patrick J. Schloss, president of Northern State University in Aberdeen, S.D.; and Dr. Jane T. Upshaw, chancellor of the University of South Carolina Beaufort.

The process to replace Brown, who will retire at the end of June, started late last year with more than 300 names of potential replacements.

The local committee cut the list to 10 in late March and conducted interviews with those people in an Atlanta airport hotel. From that process, the list was trimmed to the seven who are being brought to campus.

The local committee, which is led by Vice President for Academic Affairs Dr. George Stanton, will then cut the number to five finalists by the middle of May. From that group of five, the University System of Georgia Board of Regents, which governs the state's 35 public colleges and universities, will select the next president.