Junior Achievement to honor local citizens

The Columbus district of Junior Achievement of Georgia will induct James Yancey and Frank Brown into its 2008 JA Business Hall of Fame on Tuesday.

Yancey is retired chairman of Synovus Financial Corp. Brown is president of Columbus State University.

The 2nd annual event will be held at the Cunningham Center for Leadership Development. A reception will begin at 6 p.m. and dinner will follow at 7 p.m.

Across the country, Junior Achievement offices have recognized these Hall of Fame inductees as "champions of the free enterprise system" who have contributed significantly to the community.

Last year, Robert Wright and Paul S. Amos were inducted into the hall of fame. Wright is Dimensions International's chairman emeritus, and Amos is Aflac's chairman emeritus.

At the event, Junior Achievement will also recognize Annette Williams as JA Teacher of the Year and Paola Machado as JA Volunteer of the Year. South Columbus Elementary School and Columbus Bank and Trust will also be honored as the JA School/Business Partnership of the Year.

For more information about the event or tickets, contact Michelle Nelson-Hawkins at 706-568-1368 or mnelsonhawkins@georgia.ja.org.