Winners of the 8th annual International Sniper Competition

The defending champions in Fort Benning's annual International Sniper Competition did it again this year.

The team of Staff Sgt. Robbie Johnson and Sgt. 1st Class Jason St. John of the U.S. Army Marksmanship Unit at Fort Benning is the first team to win the competition twice.

Second place went to Sgt. Clark Casey and Sgt. Ryan Murray, 2nd Battalion, 75th Ranger Regiment, Fort Lewis, WA.

Coming in third was Sgt. 1st Class Stephen Ostaff and Sgt. 1st Class Ricky Harris,Special Warfare Training Group, Fort Bragg, NC.

The two-man sniper teams competed in events that included a sniper stalk, urban shooting and orienteering exercises, a stress fire and other tests of their marksmanship and sniper skills.

The sniper competition was an international and multi-service event. Teams from Denmark, France, Spain, Canada, Ireland, the U.S. Marine Corps and a special weapons and tactics team (SWAT) team from the Pittsburgh, Pa. Police Department competed against Army teams representing the 75th Ranger Regiment and National Guard as well as teams from installations around the world, according to Benning's public affairs office.

A field of 31 teams competed in this year’s competition.