Columbus mayor creates crime prevention group

Columbus Mayor Jim Wetherington has formed a committee aimed at preventing crime in the city.

The Mayor’s Commission on Crime Prevention was a promise from Wetherington when he ran for the office more than two years. The committee will help in making Columbus a safe city, Wetherington said Tuesday.

The group will be led by attorney J. Frank Myers. Other members include the Rev. Rudy Allen Sr., Peggy Connell, Wallace Davis, Mike Gaymon, Betty Jackson, Marjorie Newman, Dr. Kim Peters, Rep. Calvin Smyre, Sam Wellborn, Cathy Williams and Robert Wilson. Its first meeting will be held this week in Columbus Council chambers.