Work of Auburn and Tuskegee faculty results in math grant

A collaboration between Auburn University and Tuskegee University faculty members resulted in a $600,000 National Science Foundation Grant that will strenghten mathematics education in regional Alabama school systems through a new TEAM-Math initiative.

TEAM-Math (Transforming East Alabama Mathematics) is a partnership of the two schools, 14 regional school districts and area businesses designed to improve mathematics education in East Alabama.

Through this grant, six East Alabama educators became fellows in the recently established TEAM-Math Teacher Leader Academy, an initiative designed to keep skilled educators in the schools where they are most needed.

The teachers are Catherine Culleton of Southside Middle School in Tallassee, Debra Davis-Harris of Millbrook Junior High in Elmore County, Nancee Garcia of Auburn High School, Lisa Lishak of Loachapoka High, Christie Nestor of LaFayette High and Denise Peppers of Sanford Middle School in Lee County.