Army Rangers induct 17 veterans into Hall of Fame Aug. 8

Seventeen former Rangers, including retired Gen. Barry McCaffrey, the one-time "drug czar" in the Clinton Administration, will be inducted into the Ranger Hall of Fame on Aug. 8.

The 1:30 p.m. ceremony will be held at Marshall Auditorium, inside Infantry Hall at Fort Benning. Ranger units and regimental associations nominate a maximum of three Rangers per year for induction into the Hall. The nominees are scrutinized and inductees selected by a Ranger Hall of Fame selection board.

To be eligible for nomination, a soldier must be a successful graduate of the U.S. Army Ranger School; deceased, separated or retired from active military service for at least three years; and a combat veteran of a Ranger unit.