Some are confused about whether they can vote in Georgia's House District 129 race

With candidates’ signs showing up in front yards all over Columbus, it’s no wonder some residents here are confused about whether they really can vote in the election to fill the Georgia House District 129 seat Vance Smith left to become state Department of Transportation commissioner.

Some of those signs are in neighborhoods outside the district, and some of the residents inquiring about where they can vote in the four-candidate race aren’t in the district, either.

Nancy Boren, Columbus’ elections director, said the city’s getting calls and e-mails from people who want to know how they can vote, and some of them can’t.

Only four Columbus precincts are in the House district, which includes most of Harris County and part of Troup.

Advance voting for the Nov. 3 election is 8:30 a.m.-4:30 p.m. today through Friday at Muscogee’s elections office in the Government Center’s west wing.

Come next Tuesday, the only Columbus precincts open 7 a.m.-7 p.m. will be Precinct 9 at Northside Baptist Church, 959 54th St.; Precinct 10 at St. Mark United Methodist Church, 6795 Whitesville Road; Precinct 11 at Wynnbrook Baptist Church, 500 River Knoll Way; and Precinct 46 at the Fraternal Order of Police Lodge, 8827 Heiferhorn Way.

Residents wondering what district they’re in can check the Georgia Secretary of State’s online poll locator, http://sos.georgia.gov/elections/polllocator.

Harris County Elections Supervisor Sherrail Jarrett said that like Boren, she also has had to inform some residents they’re not in District 129, even though each of the county’s 12 precincts will be open on election day. Jarrett said an area south of Waverly Hall is not in the district.

Advance voting this week in Harris County is 8 a.m.- 5 p.m. at the Courthouse Annex, 104 N. College St. in Hamilton. In Troup, residents can vote in advance 8:30 a.m.-4:30 p.m. at the West Point Tech Center, 1112 Skinner Drive in West Point, and 8 a.m.-5 p.m. at the registrar’s office in LaGrange, 100 Ridley Ave.

Along with the Tech Center in West Point, the Troup County precincts in LaGrange with voters in District 129 are: Precinct 2, the Administration Building at 900 Dallis St.; Precinct 4, the Griggs Center at 716 Glenn Robertson St.; Precinct 8, Rosemont School at 4679 Hamilton Road; Precinct 11, Grace Baptist Church at 3731 West Point Road; Precinct 13, Gray Hill Park at 3600 Bartley Road; Precinct 14, Ethel Kight Elementary School at 80 North Kight Drive; and Precinct 15, Troup High School at 1920 Hamilton Road.

Related stories from Columbus Ledger-Enquirer