CMA Awards 2009 recap: Taylor Swift wins Entertainer of the Year; Darius Rucker, Lady Antebellum among other winners

Taylor Swift dominated the 43rd Annual Country Music Association Awards Wednesday, winning Entertainer of the Year amid competition from a pack of male country music heavy-hitters.

"I will never forget this moment because in this moment everything that I have ever wanted has just happened to me," Swift, 19, said while accepting the award. Other contenders in the category included Kenny Chesney, Brad Paisley, George Strait and Keith Urban.

Swift is the youngest person to win the CMA Entertainer of the Year award, and the first solo female to win it in a decade, according to the Associated Press.

Swift also won Album of the Year and Female Vocalist of the Year. While accepting the latter award, she thanked the audience "for not running up on the stage during this speech," a reference to when Kanye West interrupted Swift at the MTV Video Music Awards.

One thing was clear Wednesday night: The country music world does not like Kanye West. Swift's line was the night's third reference to the rapper.

Hosts Brad Paisley and Carrie Underwood opened the show with a song that poked fun at West, and longtime country star Little Jimmy Dickens imitated the rapper, too.

The night's other winners included Paisley, Lady Antebellum, Sugarland, Darius Rucker and Jamey Johnson.

Here's a full recap of the 2009 CMA Awards:

The show opened with a performance by Taylor Swift. She sang "Forever & Always" from her "Fearless" album.

Hosts Brad Paisley and Carrie Underwood kicked off the show with a monologue that poked fun of MTV's infamous Kanye West/Taylor Swift incident.

Paisley and Underwood sang, "Mamas don't let your babies grow up to be Kanye." They added, "Cowboys have manners, they don't interrupt."

Paisley called country music one big dysfunctional family, "George Strait Plus Eight." The hosts then sang a spoof of Tammy Wynette's "D-I-V-O-R-C-E," dedicated to splitting country duo Brooks & Dunn. The pair sang, "Everyone is sad, except for Sugarland."

Then, the awards portion of the show started:

8:10: Lady Antebellum wins Single of the Year for "I Run To You." Kid Rock presents the award.

8:16: Carrie Underwood sings "Swine Flu," a spoof of country tune "Blue."

8:17: Darius Rucker performs his single "Alright." Read an interview with Rucker in Thursday's To Do.

8:22: Song of the Year goes to Jamey Johnson's "In Color." Kellie Pickler -- with new brown hair -- and Jake Owen present the award.

8:25: Miranda Lambert performs "White Liar."

8:33: Brad Paisley performs "Welcome to the Future."

8:38: Zac Brown Band performs "The Devil Went Down to Georgia."

8:49: George Strait performs "Twang."

8:51: Lady Antebellum performs "Need You Now."

8:56: Group of the Year goes to Lady Antebellum. "We just feel so thankful," vocalist Hillary Scott says. The award is presented by the stars of ABC's "The Middle."

9:03: Carrie Underwood performs "Cowboy Casanova."

9:08: Best New Artist goes to Darius Rucker. "Wow, what a year," Rucker says, thanking his wife and kids. He also thanks fans for accepting him. The award is presented by The Judds.

9:11: Daughtry and Vince Gill pair up to perform "Tennessee Line."

9:20: Hosts Carrie Underwood and Brad Paisley poke fun at Kanye West again. Brad accepts a fake award, and Little Jimmy Dickens imitates Kanye -- insisting that Taylor deserves the win instead of Brad.

9:22: Keith Urban performs "'Til Summer Comes Around."

9:26: Tim McGraw performs "Southern Voice."

9:36: Sugarland performs "Keep You."

9:41: Album of the Year goes to Taylor Swift for "Fearless." Swift calls the album her diary and thanks fans. The award is presented by Randy Houser and Robin Roberts.

9:51: Splitting duo Brooks & Dunn perform "Honky Tonk Stomp," joined by a member of ZZ Top.

9:54: Jamey Johnson and Kid Rock join forces to perform "Between Jennings and Jones"

10:00: Best Vocal Duo goes to Sugarland. "We don't usually expect this, but we definitely didn't this year," Jennifer Nettles says. She offers Brooks & Dunn a chance to come on stage and say something, but they decline. She still thanks them for what they've done for country music.

10:07: Taylor Swift performs "Fifteen" while surrounded by a crowd of tweens in the audience.

10:11: Male Vocalist of the Year goes to Brad Paisley.

10:17: Jason Aldean performs "Big Green Tractor."

10:21: Martina McBride performs "I Was Country When Country Wasn't Cool" to honor Barbara Mandrell. She's joined by George Strait. Charlie McCoy plays the harmonica. Barbara Mandrell gives a speech thanking everyone for her induction into the Country Music Hall of Fame.

10:31: Reba McEntire performs "Consider Me Gone."

10:35: Billy Currington performs "People Are Crazy."

10:39: Female Vocalist of the Year goes to Taylor Swift. She says she wants to thank everyone in the audience "for not running up on the stage during this speech."

10:46: Kenny Chesney teams with Dave Matthews to perform "I'm Alive."

10: 54: Taylor Swift wins Entertainer of the Year. "I will never forget this moment because in this moment everything that I have ever wanted has just happened to me," Swift says. The award is presented by Faith Hill and Tim McGraw.

Related stories from Columbus Ledger-Enquirer