Items related to deleting Facebook accounts have been popular Internet search terms lately, perhaps due to hesitation over the social networking site's privacy policies.
Ready to cut the cord with Facebook? Follow these instructions.
*Remember there's a difference between deactivating and deleting your account.
When you deactivate an account, your page disappears. But the network saves some profile information in case you decide to rejoin Facebook.
According to the Facebook help desk, deleting your account means your information will permanently disappear with no option for recovery.
*Want to deactivate your account? Once you're logged in, click on the "Account" tab on the far right. Under that, click on "account settings." Then, you'll arrive at a list of items. Click on "deactivate account" at the bottom of that list. Remember, this option saves some of your information, even though other users can't access it.
*Want to permanently delete your account? You'll need to submit a request to Facebook. You can access the request form by going to Facebook's help center (under the "Account" tab) and typing "delete account" in the search bar. Information on permanently deleting an account should appear near the top of the list. Click on that item and it will give you a link to the appropriate form.