Tuskegee architecture department gets school status

The Board of Trustees at Tuskegee University have approved the recommendation of retiring President Benjamin F. Payton to give the Department of Architecture school status.

It will be named the Robert R. Taylor School of Architecture.

"This move reinforces the university's efforts to increase visibility and strength in that area," said Payton.