Local

Proposed Columbus city government holiday schedule for FY 2012 shows seven Mondays

Seven Mondays, three Fridays, one Thursday.

That’s the holiday schedule administrators will ask Columbus Council to approve this evening for the city government’s 2012 fiscal year, which begins July 1.

Memorial Day, Monday, May 30, is the last city government holiday for this fiscal year, and then next year’s schedule starts with Independence Day on Monday, July 4.

Some residents focus intently on government holidays not because they want to know when they’ll get off work, but because they want to know when their trash will get picked up. Or not.

Those whose regular garbage collection days are Mondays get miffed when lots of holidays hit then. Their complaints have prompted the city to shift the pickup schedule by a day to make up for the missed service, so that on such holiday weeks Monday’s trash is picked up on Tuesday, and Tuesday’s is picked up Wednesday, and then the schedule returns to normal.

Some find the shift confusing, and forget to wait a day to put their garbage out. With seven Monday holidays coming, they’ll have plenty to think about.

With July 4 noted above, here’s the rest of the proposed holiday schedule through Memorial Day 2012:

Labor Day will be Monday, Sept. 5.

Columbus Day will be Monday, Oct. 10.

Veterans Day will be Friday, Nov. 11.

Thanksgiving and the day after will be Thursday-Friday, Nov. 24-25.

A “floating holiday” that the city moves about year to year will be Friday, Dec. 23, with the Christmas holiday observed Monday, Dec. 26.

New Year’s Day will be observed Monday, Jan. 2.

Martin Luther King Jr. Day will be Monday, Jan. 16.

Memorial Day 2012 will be Monday, May 28.

  Comments