Update: Spencer's Darren Sampson wins state championship; Hester, Mitchell lose in finals

Spencer's Darren Sampson defeated Bremen's Joe Stroud 6-5 to win the GHSA Class AA state championship in the 145-pound class.

Shaw's Jamal Mitchell (160) lost in his Class AAAA state final to West Laurens' Bryce Carr on a pin in 3:02.

Smiths Station's Tim Hester lost to Thomson's Nick Hall 21-6 in the AHSAA state wrestling meet in the Class 6A 170-pound final.

Hester was the defending champion after he won last season. He had been undefeated this season before Saturday's final.

Sampson is the seecond Spencer wrestler to win a state title in three years. Quintni Noel won in 2011.

In Class AAAAA, Harris County's Jay Ellison (285) finished third, defeating North Paulding's Michael Barday, 9-3.

Teammate Orry Suich (120) defeated Salem's Reggie Hurt 4-1 in a fifth-place match.

Tyler DeNova (195) lost the third-place match to Ola's Jimmy Carmen by default.

Northside's Sam James (132) won his fifth-place match, defeating Rome's Triston Payen, 9-4.

Teammate Kalvin Harris (126) lost his fifth-place match to Arab Mountain's Alema Favors, 12-5.

In Class AA, Spencer's Tuyen Bowles (120) lost to Monticello's Emery Cline, 10-8, in a fifth-place match. Teammate Josh Sampson (170) finished fourth, losing to Bremen's Darren Boxley, 11-6. Spencer's Andre Carter (285) lost to Heard County's Taron Person in 3:17 in a fifth-place match.

Chattahoochee County's Jacob Afoa (195) won his third-place match, defeating Fitzgerald's Carl Salter, 9-3.

In Class A, Brookstone's Jackson Mansour (160) won his fifth-place match, pinning Cody Love of Truetlen in 1:40.

Pacelli's C.J. Baylosis (120) lost his third-place match to Turner County's Miquel Jackson, 7-6. Teammate Tony Hall (113) also lost his third-place match to Athens Christian's Stephen Crosaniti, 19-10.

Smiths Station had four wrestlers compete in fifth-place matches with two winner and two finishing sixth.

Joshua Jamieson beat Robbey Killough 11-4 to win fifth place in the 120-pound class.

Quin Miles (113) won his fifth-place match against Sparta's Patrick Anderson 8-5.

Chris Young-Perusek (195) lost his bid for fifth place when he lost to Huntsville's Tracy Kendall, 10-0. Brandon Holland also lost in his fifth-place match, dropping a 7-3 match to Oak Mountain's Lloyd Time.


Saturday at Macon


Harris County

Tyler DeNova (195)--d. Tyler Cooley (UNIO), 4:54; l. to Jimmy Carmen (OLA), def.

Orry Suich (120)--l. to Preston Markwell (POPE), 9-3; d. Reggie Hurt (SALE), 4-1.

Jay Ellison (285)--d. Taylor Howard (POPE), 11-7, d. Malik McNeil (CAMB), 3-0; d. Michael Barday (NPAU), 9-3


Sam James (132)--dl. to TJ Collins (POPE), 4-3; d. Triston Payen (ROME), 9-4

Kalvin Harris (126)--l. to Wes Lemons (NVIE), 6-4; l. to Alema Favors (ARAB), 12-5

Class AAAA


Jamal Mitchell (160)--

Class AAA


DeAndre Jackson (106)--l. to Alex Gambino ((NMUR), 5-4

Israel Wheat (195)--l. to Amdrew Poston (WHIT), 21-11

Class AA


Darren Sampson (145)--

Andre Carter (285)--l. to Eric Wilson (SOCC), 3-2; l. to Taron Person (HEAR), 3:17

Josh Sampson (170)--d. Tradd Porter (JEFF), 13-5; l. to Darren Boxley (BREM), 11-6

Tuyen Bowles (120)--l. to James Hite (LOVE), 7-3; l. to Emery Cline (MONT), 10-8

Chattahoochee County

Jacob Afoa (195)--d. Jimmy Haynes (SOCC), 10-6; d. Carl Salter (FITZ), 9-3

Class A


Tony Hall (113)--d. Hunter Smith (MTZI), 3:53; l. to Stephen Crosaniti, (ATHC), 19-10

CJ Baylosis (120)--d. James Laughlin (MPIS), 4:00; l. to Miquel Jackson (TURN), 7-6


Jackson Mansour (160)--l. to Chandler Latham (TRIO), 4:46; d. Cody Love (TRUE), 1:40


Saturday at Huntsville

Clas 6A

Smiths Station

Tim Hester (170)--d. Sam Howard (HNTS), 5-3; l. to Nick Hall (THOM), 21-6

Brandon Holland (220)--l. to Lloyd Time (OAKM), 7-3

Chris Young-Perusek (195)--l. to Track Kendall (HUNT), 1-0.

Joshua Jamison (120)--d. Robbie Killough (PTVE), 11-4