MEEF sending 9 Muscogee County School District teachers to Harvard

Nine Muscogee County School District teachers will be going to Harvard University this summer with the Muscogee Educational Education Foundation (MEEF) picking up the tab.

The first Harvard Professional Development Program was introduced at a press conference this afternoon at Wynnton Arts Academy.

MEEF annually selects the Muscogee County School District of the Year. Each of the teachers chosen to study for a week at Harvard Graduate School of Education in Cambridge, Massachusetts was a former top 10 finalist for that honor during the past five years.

Those chosen are Clubview Elementary School teacher Jennifer Jordan, Columbus High School math teacher Paul Hampton, Columbus High School math teacher Storie Atkins, Key Elementary School math teacher Susanne Wilks, Midland Middle School math teacher Lisa Seegar, Muscogee Elementary school fifth grade teacher Amy Stenson, Northside High School English teacher Christine Powell, St. Mary's Magnet Academy teacher Cheryl Hampel and Wynnton Arts Academy drama teacher Melissa Wilks.