Dimon Kendrick-Holmes

Dimon Kendrick-Holmes: How to share a story with us

Today, I'd like to take a break from telling stories, and instead tell you how to get your story told.

You know, here in the Ledger-Enquirer.

Let's start with news. The quickest way to get your news tip considered is to email Stephanie Pedersen, our senior editor for digital and breaking news, at spedersen@ledger-enquirer.com. She can forward it to the appropriate beat reporter or section editor.

Or if you want to pitch your idea to your favorite reporter, be my guest.

Here's an easy one: If you see something in the community that needs to be fixed or that just plain bugs you, drop Mike "The Inquirer" Owen a line at mowen@ledger-enquirer.com. His column runs every Monday, and he's always looking for things to investigate that don't involve potholes and unkempt yards.

Sometimes people complain that we don't have enough good news in the paper, especially when we run booking mugshots of their loved ones.

So send us your good news! Mark Rice (mrice@ledger-enquirer.com), Larry Gierer (lgierer@ledger-enquirer.com) and Alva James-Johnson (ajjohnson@ledger-enquirer.com) are always looking for human-interest stories and inspirational features. Larry writes a weekly story for Saturday's Faith section, and Mark and Alva are frequent contributors to Sunday's front page and Living section.

The quickest way to get your story considered and published, especially if it's a press release and photo, is by submitting it to Roving Reporter, which runs daily from Monday to Saturday. Just email Jenny Chandler at jchandler@ledger-enquirer.com.

If you have an event that you want us to consider for one of our many calendars, send that to Jenny too. If you think it deserves a preview story or special coverage, you can email it to Stephanie as well.

Know an area student who won an award beyond the school level or did something noteworthy or unusual? Send an email to Marcia McAllister at mmcallister@ledger-enquirer.com and she'll consider it for our new Super Stars feature, which runs every Sunday.

If you know an interesting person in the community, we've got lots of ways to introduce him or her to readers.

There's Five Questions, which runs every Monday. In it, we ask -- you got it! -- five questions to somebody in the community, and we always end with "What's the best-kept secret in the Chattahoochee Valley?" Send suggestions to Stephanie.

Every Sunday, we run a Job Spotlight in our Business section. Know a cool person or a person with a cool job? Or better yet, a cool person with a cool job? Email Tony Adams at tadams@ledger-enquirer.com. He's also looking for promotions and work-related awards to run in "On the Move."

And Chuck Williams is always looking for subjects for his Sunday Interview. He's set the bar pretty high so far with Dan Amos, Robert Wright and Julia Slater. Can you top that? Reach him at chwilliams@ledger-enquirer.com.

So send your story tips and ideas to the appropriate individual. Or you're always welcome to shoot them to me, and I'll get them to the right person.

And hey, thanks for reading.

  Comments