War Eagle Extra

Auburn’s lone representative on Coaches All-SEC First Team is DB Jonathan Jones

Michael Niziolek


Auburn’s reigning defensive player of the year continues to garner preseason recognition.

Defensive back Jonathan Jones was the Tigers’ lone representative on the Coaches All-SEC First Team announced Tuesday afternoon.

As a junior, Jones made second team All-SEC ranking ninth nationally with six interceptions, and a team-high 11 pass breakups.

The Carrollton, Georgia native showed no signs of an ankle injury that kept him out of the first four games of his sophomore year.

Jones is one of 42 players named to the Jim Thorpe Award watch list, an award given to the nation’s top defensive back, and to the Bronko Nagurski watch list, given to the country’s top defensive player.

Wide receiver D’haquille Williams and defensive lineman Montravius Adams made the All-SEC Second team while teammates Alex Kozan (OL), Devonte Danzey (OL), Jeremy Johnson (QB), Carl Lawson (DL), Cassanova McKinzy (LB) and Jonathan Ford (DB) made the Third Team. Johnson tied Tennessee quarterback Joshua Dobbs for a spot on the Third Team.

Williams led Auburn in receiving last season with 730 yards on 45 receptions with five touchdowns.

Ford led Auburn with 93 tackles, 62 solo, while Adams and McKinzy were both difference makers up front combining for 19 tackles behind the line of scrimmage and 4.5 sacks.

Alabama lead the conference with five players on the First Team, and tied for a conference-best 10 representatives with LSU.

South Carolina’s Pharoh Cooper made the All-SEC First Team in three spots -- wide receiver, all-purpose athlete and at return specialist.

Coaches, who aren’t permitted to vote for their own players, have released preseason All-SEC teams for the past 13 seasons.

Michael Niziolek covers Auburn football for the Columbus Ledger-Enquirer. Email him at mniziolek@ledger-enquirer.com or follow him on Twitter, Facebook or Google+