High School Sports

Key ready to run for Smiths Station Council

Former Lee County Commissioner Dick Key is stepping back into the political arena on a person level, qualifying to run for Place 5 on the Smiths Station Council.

Key, 72, is running for the seat previously held by only Bob Sawyer, an original member of the Smiths Station Council. Sawyer has decided not to run for a third term.

Two other members of the original council have decided to run for third terms. Place 1 Councilman George Stringer Jr. and Place 2 Councilman Morris Jackson, have qualified. Place 4 Councilman Richard Cooley has qualified to seek a second term on the council, but Mayor LaFaye Dellinger, who is the city's first and only mayor, and Place 3 Councilman James T. Moody, who would be running for a second term, have not yet qualified.

Qualifying for the Smiths Station municipal election will conclude at 6 p.m. EDT Tuesday.

City Clerk Jerry F. Bentley said someone will be on duty to accept qualifying papers until the deadline at the Smiths Station Government Center, 2336 Lee Road 430.