Valley Preps

AHSAA board approves re-classification for 2016-18

David Mitchell

The AHSAA Central Board of Control approved the re-classification for the 2016-17 and 2017-18 cycles at its annual winter board meeting on Wednesday.

There will be no changes for either Central or Smiths Station, which remain in the same groupings for each sport in Class 7A. That classification held at 32 teams, where it has been for the past two years. That means those two teams will be matched with Auburn, Enterprise, Jeff Davis, Lee-Montgomery and Prattville again in football’s Region 2.

Russell County’s regions changed only slightly, as both Wetumpka and Carroll moved out of Class 6A, Region 2. The remaining teams in the region for football are Carver-Montgomery, Dothan, Northview, Park Crossing, Sidney Lanier and Stanhope Elmore.

For non-football sports, the Warriors will be matched against Dothan and Northview.

These areas are subject to change based on the number of sports declarations submitted by member schools, which are due by May 1 for fall and winter sports and June 1 for spring sports.