Valley Preps

Over 60 area athletes expected to sign on Wednesday

David Mitchell

A big class of recruits for the Class of 2016 will sign with their respective college destinations on Wednesday’s national signing day, the first day a high school senior can sign a binding national letter of intent with the NCAA.

More than 50 football players, including 17 headed to Division I schools, will make their commitments official at ceremonies spread throughout the day. Another 12 athletes from other sports will also participate in signing day ceremonies.

The two biggest classes will sign in the morning, 9:30 a.m. at Carver and 10 a.m. at Central. Twelve football players for the Tigers, including three Division I signees, will participate in the ceremony. Barring any last-minute changes of heart, quarterback Jawon Pass will sign with Louisville, defensive back Javontay Smith with East Carolina and offensive lineman Fred Williams with Grambling State.

At Central, 11 players are expected to sign with six heading for Division I schools. Defensive back John Broussard already signed a financial aid agreement with Auburn in the fall, but will return for the ceremony. Wide receiver/athlete Jamal Couch is heading to Mississippi State, defensive back Darius King to Alabama State, linebacker Toron Morten to Tennessee Tech, linebacker Walter Pritchett to Troy and wide receiver Quan Weaver to Southern Miss.

Other Division I football signees in the area include: Pacelli athlete DeAndre Bowman (Georgia State), Pacelli linebacker Ben Davis (Davidson), Smiths Station linebacker Vada King (Arkansas State) and Jacob Faver (Northern Arizona), Columbus defensive back Essang Bassey (Wake Forest), Jordan linebacker Markus Wright (Army), Harris County linebacker Jacob Rovig and Hardaway defensive back Deyon Hicks (Troy).

Smiths Station’s Max Newton will sign Division I in baseball with Troy, while fellow Panthers classmate Aly Smith will sign with South Alabama softball.

Here is a complete list of signing ceremonies taking place around the area on Wednesday:

Marion County, 9 a.m.

Maurice Carter, Cumberland University

Cameron Cox, Cumberland University

Carver, 9:30 a.m.

Trevonne Atkins, Globe Institute of Technology

Tyler Davis, Globe Institute of Technology

Ashton Calhoun, Globe Institute of Technology

Jaquaze Gaines, Globe Institute of Technology

Darius Love, Iowa Central C.C.

Robert Henderson, Fort Valley State

Trevon Lowe, Fort Valley State

Jordan Rivers, Fort Valley State

Gerald Reed, Benedict College

Fred Williams, Grambling State

Javontay Smith, East Carolina

Jawon Pass, Louisville

Central, 10 a.m.

John Broussard, Auburn

J’Lan Carson, Faulkner

Jamal Couch, Mississippi State

Jacorey Jones, Point University

Darius King, Alabama State

Nic Lewis, Point University

Preston Loving, Point University

Toron Morten, Tennessee Tech

Walter Pritchett, Troy

Daveon Ward, Point University

Quan Weaver, Southern Miss

Shaw, 10:30 a.m.

Austin Hester, Georgia Military College

Pacelli, 11 a.m.

DeAndre Bowman, Georgia State

Mikal Marlbe, Cincinnati Christian

Trevor Robichaux, Cincinnati Christian

Ben Davis, Davidson

Smiths Station, 11 a.m.

Tripp Jones, Huntingdon College (baseball)

Max Newton, Troy (baseball)

Blake Rivera, Wallace State-Hanceville (baseball)

Devin Brown, Northwest Florida-Niceville (baseball)

Dalton Sinquefield, Wallace State-Hanceville (baseball)

Vada King, Arkansas State

Blake Murphy, Huntingdon College

K.J. Johnson, Point University

Quandarius Holt, Kentucky Christian University

Jacob Faver, Northern Arizona University

Aly Smith, South Alabama (softball)

Allison Moore, CVCC (softball)

Christian Howell, Point University (soccer)

Spencer, noon

Signees TBD

Columbus, 1 p.m.

Essang Bassey, Wake Forest

Ja’Quan Mason, Point University

Jordan, 2 p.m.

Markus Wright, Army

Northside, 2 p.m.

Katie Ann Fitts, Wesleyan College (soccer)

Madison Whipkey, CVCC (softball)

Mary Horne, Columbus State (softball)

Kalan Watts, Limestone College

Noah Daniel, Sioux Falls

Levi Dunn, LaGrange College

Harris County, 2:45 p.m.

Tek Kalish, Maryville College

Bubba Blackmon, Point University

Josh Stein, Maryville College

Jacob Rovig, Stetson University

Hardaway, 3:45 p.m.

Deyon Hicks, Troy

Jonathon Mack, Atlanta Prep Academy

Christian McBride, Itasca C.C.

Sam Anthony, Western Oklahoma State (baseball)

* All signees are football unless noted otherwise